Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
I have made this recipe several times and everyone loves it. People always think I slaved over my biscotti, but with this recipe I can't believe how easy they are to make. BTW, I usually use 1 1/2 tsps. vanilla extract and 1 1/2 tsps. of almond extract instead of all almond extract, which I find far too strong a flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
This was fantastic and easy (and I usually can't bake anything). It worried me that it looked more like "crumbles" than dough but when I divided it into two pieces and rolled it, it was right. I ate some that I cut off the ends after baking and it was delicious so I thought I'd get fancy and brush on a chocolate covering. Well, I learned that you need to "temper" chocolate or it will melt in your hands as well as your mouth. If you decide to do this same thing and are an inexperienced baker like me. Look up "tempering chocolate" before you dip or brush chocolate on your biscotti. The biscotti was great on it's own though and tasted better than the expensive store bought biscotti
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nasja1984

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Witch In The Kitchen
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
I love this recipe. These were the first biscotti's I've ever made and I can't wait to make MORE! The anise extract is very strong. It smells like licorice/mint almost and the smell of it will fill up your whole kitchen! In the future I would use vanilla extract and anise extract, I figured that I'd customize the extract portion of this recipe because the anise extract was very strong. Overall, they were also very simple to make in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Witch In The Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
HELP!! I just put this together, added an extra egg and it is nothing like any Biscotti recipe I've seen...it is dry....worse than the crumbly you want pie dough to be before you add the water....like sand. How do I fix this???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
My first try with biscotti and I will make it again! Great basic recipe that is easy to tweak. I never knew biscotti was so easy, and the tweaking possibilities are endless! (I dipped one side of mine in dark chocolate then sliced almonds). Can be packed for an excellent gift. Mama mia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StonedMama
Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
Loved this recipe! I don't care for strong anise flavor, and this cookie is very mild. I made it "as is" for my 1st batch. This is going to be such a money saver, as we like to have a biscotti on the weekends with our coffee! I did have very good success using a thin plastic bowl scraper (3X5" with a rounded side)to shape the dough before baking. The dough did not stick to the scraper. I used my KitchenAid mixer to mix ingredients and a pizza cutter to cut the baked dough into strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Mixes well, had to use more flour at a higher altitude. Used disarrono instead of anise for flavouring. Need to add some almond extract as well as the flavor was a bit weak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Yum. Substituted white whole wheat flour. I didn't have anise extract or oil, so I used vanilla instead. Next time I'll add a little almond extract too. I chopped up semi-sweet chocolate chips and walnuts and stirred them right into the heavy dough (took a little elbow grease). (BTW: No extra flour required!) Used wax paper and a rolling pin to form two equal logs, which I then dumped onto a parchment-lined baking sheet. Practically no clean up! Baked about 24 minutes, waited a couple minutes, sliced with a pizza cutter, and toasted another 6-8 minutes. Next time I'll slice with a pizza cutter just after they come out of the oven (or maybe a minute later). These are delicious, with a crumbly texture and the perfect bite -- not jaw breakingly crunchy. I will definitely make these again. Thanks for sharing this awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
This is our go-to biscotti recipe. We make a different flavor combination every Sunday. We've exchanged the anise extract for orange extract and added dried cranberries. We've also exchanged anise for almond and added nuts. Never disappoints
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
These were plain but not bad. I melted leftover chocolate morsels (w/ some chocolate hazelnut spread and a little oil) and spread over the top. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 642) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States