Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kevin Crow
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
worked great I tried it with Almond and cinnamon instead of anise, however it need more flour about 1/4 cup extra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kerrync
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2015
It was my first time making biscotti and I LOVED IT. This recipe is simple, easy to follow and is a perfect "base" for any other nuts or dried fruit you might want to add to the dough. As I don't have anise extract or oil, I substituted that with 1/2 tbsp vanilla bean paste, 1/4 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp nutmeg and 1/4 coriander (after reading some of the suggestions in the reviews). The result was a light, crunchy, yet not hard biscotti that was more-ish, you just keep wanting to take one more piece! As good as store bought biscotti, will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kerrync

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
This is the best biscotti recipe out there!! I've been using this recipe for the last few years and have had so many compliments! My mom requests a batch just for her every Xmas. I've also had a co-worker, whose mother-in-law was Italian, tell me these are the closest thing to real Italian biscotti like her MIL used to make. I've also played around with the recipe sometimes adding dried fruits, nuts, other extracts, and dipped in chocolate. Everytime they are still perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
As written, the recipe is plain, but by no means does that make it bad! I imagine that even without my additions, this recipe make a very refined and tasty treat to be eaten with a hot beverage of your choice. When I made it, I subbed the anise extract for 1.5 tb of vanilla extract and I added about 1/3 cup of slivered almonds. I scorched the bottoms of the biscotti on the lower rack in my oven, so be watchful of your racks. I baked them for the minimum time suggested, and only toasted them for 4 minutes on each side. Try adding fruits/nuts/chocolates of your choice and subbing the anise for your favourite flavours- this recipe leaves a lot of wiggle room for trying new things!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Outstanding. Made as written with the anise extract. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RIELLA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I agree, no frills easy to make and slightly lacking in flavor. I did make these a second time and increased the amount of Anise, I used Anise seed -1 heaping Tablespoon ground in smaller pieces in a coffee grinder. I also took the advise of other posters and carefully sliced the loaf before it cooled- this avoided breaking them before the second baking. I like that these are not too sweet and that they are made with oil instead of butter as they are easier to make - oil is less expensive and I always have it in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2015
It was great! The only problem was that it made smoke.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
I love this recipe, so versatile. I use dried cranberries sliced almonds and almond extract. Yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 679) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States