Biscotti Toscani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very easy to make. I didn't have almond extract nor orange zest but they came out tasty anyway. The only problem was with the cooking time - after cutting I baked them over 30 minutes. I might have cut them too thick than required because I got only 24 mid-size pieces. There is no information how wide it should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is the 3rd AR biscotti recipe I've tried - and the sweetest (also tried "Biscotti" & "Pistachio and Cranberry"). I used fresh orange zest and put the choc chips in the batter (1/2c) so I wouldn't have to mess with dipping afterward. Also I did not toast the almonds. I think the zest and untoasted almonds are too chewy. And choc chips make it too sweet. Smells fantastic and tastes nice, but I didn't reach for a third like I did the others. Will try again with those modifications. Be sure to flatten it out to 1/2" high b4 baking. Yield for me was 48 1/2" pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SiloDog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I made this for several christmas presents and i got a TON of complements on it. The only thing I didn't like was that it was more like 'mini' biscotti. But they were still really really good! Instead of almond extract and almond pieces I used rum extract because I was making it for someone who was allergic and then drizzled them with white and dark chocolate! Super obber good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I don't understand why people rate this 5 stars and then list all the changes they've made because they had to improve the recipe. Anyway, I rate it 3 stars because they needed to be in the oven WAY longer than it says in order to get them to be crispy. One said they lowered the temperature to 200 and let them hang out there for 30 minutes or so. I think I will do that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I was in a hurry and didn't read the recipe really well. I added the chocolate chips to the batter also. Was really good that way too! I'm thinking about using dried cranberries in the batter with the toasted almonds and using white chocolate as the topping.. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Deridder, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This recipe is absolutely perfect. I want to make biscottis to include in gift baskets for Christmas this year, and these are it! I had to substitute 1/2 t. of orange extract because i didn't have any oranges on hand for the zest. Otherwise, I didn't change a thing. I followed the advice of others, and kept my hands wet with water while working with the dough, and it was just fine. The dough didn't stick to me at all using this tip. Thanks, THEA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very easy to do, especially for someone who is not a baker! And delicious! We changed the recipe to make it gluten free for my sister, so we did gluten free baking flour by bob's red mill and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This recipe is delicious!! I am a college student with limited cooking skills and a big sweet tooth. I used a little more orange zest than called for, as well as used blanched almonds instead of toasted almonds. Use caution when cutting the loaves. Using the serrated knife is important for this. This recipe didn't make 42 servings though, maybe 20-30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
These are very delicious. I made the recipe almost as stated, leaving out the almond pieces & just adding 1/2 cup chips. I then made the recipe again, using oil in place of butter and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. You really can't taste the cinnamon or nutmeg & can probably leave it out. My preference is using oil, I like the texture better, but that is personal preference. This is my new favorite recipe for biscotti Thank you Thea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
For orange flavor, I added Fiori Di Sicilia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Nesfeder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States