Biscotti Toscani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I have never cared for Biscotti but after my girlfriend saw it made on TV and said she had never even heard of it I decided to make her some. This recipe was fantastic, not only was it easy to do, it tasted great! The only changes I made was to add a dash of cinnamon, a lot more almond extract and sliced almonds and no chocolate. I made these cookies for my 9 year old daughters Girl Scout troop and drizzled with chocolate and they loved them too. Who knew kids would like what I consider such a grownup cookie :) Strongly recommend as a jumping base for any biscotti, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
One of the best biscottis I have ever made. It was a hit. I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
Quick & easy in my Kitchenaid mixer. Mixed in 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips instead of spreading with chocolate. Forgot to toast almonds and next time I'll add a few more minutes to second bake - some dried cherries might be nice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Old Tappan, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
I loved this biscotti!! The aroma of the batter alone indicated to me that it would be wonderful, and sure enough it was! I added in walnuts instead of almonds, and also added in some cinnamon, white chocolate chips and milk chocolate chips (instead of melting and dipping like the recipe indicated). The texture is wonderful as well! Thank you Thea for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2006
Very crunchy and tasty. I used tangerine zest and maple extract instead of orange zest and almond extract, it was even better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I thought these were very tasty eventhough I had no nutmeg and didn't use the chocolate coating. The orange zest added a nice touch. I also like my biscotti rather hard, so I baked them a bit longer than the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I thought these were very good. I put the half cup of chocolate chip in the batter instead of melting it and putting on the outside. I will make again, maybe try it without the orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
We loved this recipe. I left out the nuts due to an allergy and put mini chocolate chips in the batter. Delicious! My mother-in-law took most of them home with her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2006
These came out great! I didn't have any orange zest and put in a little triple sec instead. They had good texture, nice mild flavor: perfect for dipping into coffee. I'll try with orange zest next time. Maybe it'll be a 5 star then. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cologne, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2006
What a change-friendly recipe! I used this recipe on my first shot at making biscotti. I had to leave out almonds due to an allergy, I used anise flavoring instead of the orange zest b/c I did not have any on hand - the anise is my favorite hint of flavor in biscotti so it seemed right. Also I used half whole wheat flour and half AP white flour and THAT really worked too. I normally to change a recipe so much before trying the original but this is just so forgiving. Oh, the most important part is - EVERYONE loved it. My sunday school class, my mother, my 3yr old daughter, ... I had *Nonni's* biscotti there to (to fall back on just in case mine was terrible) but everyone went for mine first. I love that! Thank you so much, the recipe is delish! I won't look any further but I will continue to experiment with yours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by onassis75

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Georgia, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States