Biscotti Toscani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
These are very tasty. The plain dough was very yummy, easy to whip up by hand and easy to enjoy. Seems very versatile and is perfect for someone (me!) who's never made biscotti before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I used this recipe as a base to try out some different flavors of biscotti to use up holiday baking leftovers. The dough came out much firmer than I expected, and I suspect that it might have been better to flatten it more; it rose more than I thought it would during the first baking. Also, 5 minutes on each side during the second baking didn't seem to be enough. After turning them over, I raised the heat to 350. I made butterscotch mocha and cherry anise (half batch of each, as a test), and they came out very nicely. Fun experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Chase City, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pauline
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This recipe is amazing! I used Grand Marnier instead of orange zest as suggested by another user and they turned out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pauline

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SAMJJ
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Very good! This was my first time making biscotti, and they weren't as rock-hard as most other versions I've had. I spread the chocolate on the bottoms rather than the sides and baked them a bit longer than directed (9 min one side, about 6 on the other, then turned the oven off and left it ajar for a little over an hour), but otherwise followed directions exactly. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SAMJJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I liked these pretty well. I give them 4 stars because the dough was a little sticky and hard to work with, and they were a little too sweet. I think I'll cut down on the sugar just a tad next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These were a big hit. My husband kept sneaking back to the jar and before we know it they were all gone. Luckily our son and daughter-in-law got to try them too and both loved them also. I am on my way to the store to stock up on ingredients so that I can have them on hand for the family and friends for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I have made these many times, followed the recipe exactly and they are wonderful! Love these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
This is a great recipe, made delicious biscotti! I didn't have any nutmeg on hand so I used ground cardamom instead, it turned out nicely, but next time I will make sure to use the nutmeg, like the recipe calls for. Personally, I'm not a huge fan of biscotti unless I'm dunking it, and having this alongside a mug of steaming hot chai tea is the perfect afternoon snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Petit Pastry Chef

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Creston, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Nelson, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
Great, easy recipe. I used dark chocolate chips, put a little bit of orange zest in the chocolate before I melted it then dipped one side in it instead of brushing or drizzling it on. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pembroke, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: South Royalton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
one of the best recipes on the site. SO good. restaurant worthy- heck- better than most biscotti I've had in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States