Biscotti Toscani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by misscarolb
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Okay...So I didn't have any Nutmeg or Almonds but what are ya gonna' do?! Once cooled, I spread some with melted chocolate and sprinkled chopped Hazelnuts on top and drizzled chocolate over the others. Then I popped them in the freezer for a few minutes to set. They are absolutely delicate and delicious! I love biscotti and these have that perfect subtle taste. I did bake mine slightly longer the second time around (about 8 mins per side) because I like my biscotti really crunchy. Can't wait to share with friends and family, I know they'll be impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This is very good and easy to make. I will definitely be making biscotti again, trying some of the variations on this site. I used the fresh zest from 1 med. size orange instead of the 2 t., which I assume meant dried. I think that would have been a little much. Also, I mistakenly used raspberry flavored choc. chips. It was ok, but next time I'll be sure to look at the package and use plain choc. chips. The 1/2 c. of chips was way too much, imo, so next time I will cut it down to 1/4c. Even the almonds could be cut down, if you are running low, but over all, it's a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I like them a lot. I didnt have any orange zest, so it was out. Other than that I followed the recipe, and it was great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was a very easy to make biscotti recipe. It was my first time making it and I modified it by adding pecans and chocolate chips to the batter. Absolutely delicious! Also, I did not have orange zest, so I subbed orange marmalade and it still turned out great. I baked them at 275 for an additional 15 minutes to make them extra crispy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaDoubleJs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These are the best biscotti ever. Easy to make too. I substituted anise extract for the almond and 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour for same amount white. Also spread chocolate on top of cookie with chopped almonds - very easy to be creative with this cookie. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was wonderful! made it 2 days in a row. Had to freeze some before hubby ate all of them. First day I used orange zest; next day I used lemon zest - just as good. Also threw in some anise seed I had & craisins. You can add chips directly to the mix, about 1/2 cup. Just use 1 long or 2 spatulas when removing the loaves from the oven to the racks to cool. TIP - these look even more elegant if you DIP the BOTTOM of the biscotti into melted chocolate instead of the side. I used a small rectangle container & microwaved the chips (about 2 min). Dip the bottoms into the chocolate & just use tip of spatula to even it out. Lay on their sides on a plate or cooling rack & put in fridge for about 10 mins to firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Excellent basic biscotti! Sometimes the simple recipes turn out to be the tastiest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
good. I thought the recipe should be doubled. Wet your hands before forming a loaf. I put cranberries in mine and omitted the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MochaMe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA
Living In: Twin Lakes, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
VERY delicious, my boyfriend said it was so good that i should make a whole lot of these and sell it to the local coffee shops..of course he was kidding but thats how good they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DelightfulDines

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Unbelievable! The only substitution I made was orange liquor for orange zest. Biscotti came out crisp yet chewy. Definitely a keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States