Biscotti Toscani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Very easy to do, especially for someone who is not a baker! And delicious! We changed the recipe to make it gluten free for my sister, so we did gluten free baking flour by bob's red mill and it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
This recipe is delicious!! I am a college student with limited cooking skills and a big sweet tooth. I used a little more orange zest than called for, as well as used blanched almonds instead of toasted almonds. Use caution when cutting the loaves. Using the serrated knife is important for this. This recipe didn't make 42 servings though, maybe 20-30.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
These are very delicious. I made the recipe almost as stated, leaving out the almond pieces & just adding 1/2 cup chips. I then made the recipe again, using oil in place of butter and cinnamon instead of nutmeg. You really can't taste the cinnamon or nutmeg & can probably leave it out. My preference is using oil, I like the texture better, but that is personal preference. This is my new favorite recipe for biscotti Thank you Thea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Boynton Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
For orange flavor, I added Fiori Di Sicilia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Nesfeder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Nazareth, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by misscarolb
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Okay...So I didn't have any Nutmeg or Almonds but what are ya gonna' do?! Once cooled, I spread some with melted chocolate and sprinkled chopped Hazelnuts on top and drizzled chocolate over the others. Then I popped them in the freezer for a few minutes to set. They are absolutely delicate and delicious! I love biscotti and these have that perfect subtle taste. I did bake mine slightly longer the second time around (about 8 mins per side) because I like my biscotti really crunchy. Can't wait to share with friends and family, I know they'll be impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This is very good and easy to make. I will definitely be making biscotti again, trying some of the variations on this site. I used the fresh zest from 1 med. size orange instead of the 2 t., which I assume meant dried. I think that would have been a little much. Also, I mistakenly used raspberry flavored choc. chips. It was ok, but next time I'll be sure to look at the package and use plain choc. chips. The 1/2 c. of chips was way too much, imo, so next time I will cut it down to 1/4c. Even the almonds could be cut down, if you are running low, but over all, it's a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tetya
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
I like them a lot. I didnt have any orange zest, so it was out. Other than that I followed the recipe, and it was great! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tetya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
This was a very easy to make biscotti recipe. It was my first time making it and I modified it by adding pecans and chocolate chips to the batter. Absolutely delicious! Also, I did not have orange zest, so I subbed orange marmalade and it still turned out great. I baked them at 275 for an additional 15 minutes to make them extra crispy. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaDoubleJs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
These are the best biscotti ever. Easy to make too. I substituted anise extract for the almond and 3/4 cup of whole wheat flour for same amount white. Also spread chocolate on top of cookie with chopped almonds - very easy to be creative with this cookie. Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
This was wonderful! made it 2 days in a row. Had to freeze some before hubby ate all of them. First day I used orange zest; next day I used lemon zest - just as good. Also threw in some anise seed I had & craisins. You can add chips directly to the mix, about 1/2 cup. Just use 1 long or 2 spatulas when removing the loaves from the oven to the racks to cool. TIP - these look even more elegant if you DIP the BOTTOM of the biscotti into melted chocolate instead of the side. I used a small rectangle container & microwaved the chips (about 2 min). Dip the bottoms into the chocolate & just use tip of spatula to even it out. Lay on their sides on a plate or cooling rack & put in fridge for about 10 mins to firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jazzy Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States