Biscotti Toscani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I always wanted to try biscotti, but every time someone else made it, it came out to be more like a soft cookie. I wanted that crispy texture. This was my first attempt. I have never had a more delicious and more perfect of a texture in a biscotti!! The orange zest was key. I was worried when splitting up the dough. It's sticky and not easy to form like a pizza dough would be. I honestly thought I did something wrong. I went ahead and continued thinking I had a disaster awaiting me. Instead I found the loaves perfect and easy to remove to cool, easier to cut and by the time I stuck them in for the final crisping, I knew I was on the right track. I dipped them in the melted chocolate on one flat side and scraped the top along the bowl to smoothe it out. Some I drizzled the chocolate, some I left plain and others I added sprinkles to the chocolate. They were ALL delicious! I plan to make these often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Delicious and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MellowDee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
This is very good and easy to make. Some of the almond pieces got in the way when I was slicing and made chunks of cookie break off. Next time, I'll probably use sliced almonds instead. Also will use more almond extract and skip the vanilla as I couldn't taste the almond at all. I used 3/4 c. of the choc. chips and it was still way too much. I ended up dipping pretzel rods in the remaining chocolate and almost covered a whole bag! Next time, I'll use 1/4-1/3 c. but I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Cullum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
THIS DIVINE RECIPE MUST HAVE COME FROM THE GODS. IT IS NO DOUBT THE BEST RECIPE IN THE WHOLE. ENTIRE. WORLD. NO OTHER BISCOTTI WILL EVER ENTER MY MOUTH. THANK YOU, THEA FOR CHANGING OUR LIVES....THEY WILL NEVER BE THE SAME AGAIN. 10 STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
delicious taste, i dipped in melted chocolate. note to self... bake a little longer the first time around, the middle of the log was still undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaliforniaBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Wales, New York, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Perfect base recipe! Though I didn't try it as is for starters I really didn't do much. I used 1/2c of chopped pistachios and 1/2c chopped dried cranberries. In addition to the almond extract I added about 1/8tsp of orange extract too and I skipped the nutmeg. Didn't drizzle chocolate on all of them because they were just SO delicious as they were. Seriously some of the most scrumptious biscotti I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Simple and delicious! I halved the recipe and now I regret it.... a keeper. I doubled the orange zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Absolutely amazing and super easy! I substituted 2tsp cinnamon for the orange zest and combined with the nutmeg, it was exactly what I was looking for. Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
excellent! came out perfect, and this is the first time I've made biscotti. my parents loved it, and i have made variations in the flavourings, i have tried lemon zest, subtle but still good, and cinnamon and nutmeg came out nicely. I am going to add fruit to another batch instead of almonds, and also hazelnuts in a different batch. my favourite is still the original :) Only problem I had was the second cooking time took longer, I'd say cook them for 9 minutes, and then flip, then do 6 minutes on the other side. THANKS FOR THE RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
So great! One tip: I add Ghiradelli cocoa powder to half the batch and then, instead of melting chocolate in the microwave, I turn off the oven when the cookies are done baking and place chips on top of cookies and put them back in the oven for a few minutes. They melt nicely and then I run a knife across to smooth the chocolate. It is so much less messy and you won't risk burning the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 230) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States