Biscochitos Traditional Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
DELICIOUS! I'm Latina... these cookies bring back memories of baking at Xmas with my Grandmother! A couple of suggestions: (1) Melt lard in the microwave before mixing it with sugar.... it keeps the dough more moist when rolling; (2) Use 1 Tablespoon of Anise Liquid instead of seeds; (3) at Xmas, coat w red & green sugar sprinkles instead of sugar & cinnamon; (4) Use bread flour instead of all purpose flour & ALWAYS sift it; (5) NEVER substitute Crisco, butter or Vegetable Oil for the lard. Notes: #2 - I don't like licorice but love these cookies. By using anise liquid instead of seeds, the taste spreads thru the cookie & isn't as overpowering! Even my Mexican family prefers them over my grandmother's own recipe with anise seeds! #4 -- Bread flour helps keep the cookie light like shortbread instead of dense & heavy. I have used wheat flour & it doesn't change flavor just texture. Don't forget to sift the flour as this too helps keep them light & flaky. #5 -- I know I know, the lard has 10,000 calories & it's all fat! But, the cookie is supposed to be flaky & a light shortbread consistency; you lose that texture with other shortenings & they become heavy & dense. I try to eat healthy & use Canola butter, wheat flour, splenda in recipes but this isn't one of them that works with substitutes. Eat them once or twice a year guilt free then get on the bike & do some cardio. Trust me, after 46 years of eating these cookies, you won't regret the indulgence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Excellent cookies. Family and co-workers couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I made these for my son cause he is doing new mexico as his state project we loved them! We used shotening we haven't used lard yet, is it better? but they are still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I used crisco instead of lard, and these cookies were so DRY! The only thing that saved them was the massive amount of cinnamon-sugar. I don't want to give them a bad rating, though, because I didn't follow the recipe exactly. We've got a vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
The dough came out very dry and so did the cookie. I made two batches, just to make sure I hadn't messed one up and the result was the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
A little dry, but I loved the anise seed and cinnamon taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Made these for my family but no one liked them because of the licorice flavor. Made a second time without anise seed and with pineapple juice, and rolled them into balls before baking because I just don't have the counter space to roll out dough. They were gone before the oven was cool. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
SIMPLE, QUICK & DELICIOUS! These were lovely. I whipped them up to take with us on an outing. I never knew lard-based cookies could taste sooooooooo good!. My family loved them. I cut up my dough with a pizza cutter to save time. But I got my daughter to roll them in the cinnamon sugar when they came out of the oven. I will make these again. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruzmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Im Happy to see someone finally have this recipe with lard and not butter or just shortening, the way its supose to be made. I have awesome memories of making these with my grandmother ( no rum ) lol I love it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This recipe brought back memories of my grandmother! I loved them. They tasted just like the ones she made for us as children. My grandmothers recipes is almost exact except for a couple small details. Her recipe used only 1 C of sugar, and she used 3 eggs. She also used orange juice (I like to use OJ) or whiskey for the liquid. This is a keeper! My daughter loved cutting the cookies out and sprinkling them with cinnamon sugar. We used to dip them in Coffee when we were kids, I guess because that's what the grown ups did and I wanted to be "grown up" too... can I go back to being a kid now if I don't dip them in coffee? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States