Biscochitos Traditional Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
just like grandma/mom used to make, i now see why mine are different, i use shortening, still good but i bet the lard is the magic ingredient. i also used spiced rum, it's what i had on hand, i think my mom used port wine? regardless, these always bring back the most wonderful memories, i want to cry when i taste the first cookie, takes me back to my mothers kitchen as a little girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Came out amazing followed it exactly only it felt a little to crumbly at first added just a tiny bit of hot water to help gather a ball to roll! But they came out exactly like I expected they way I know biscochitos taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Too dry, bland, not tasty at all. Minus 1 star. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PharmDJD
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I've always wanted to be able to make biscochitos like a family friend made when I was a kid, and as soon as I smelled this dough, I knew this was it! To match my memories I used cream sherry instead of brandy, and 1 teaspoon anise extract instead of whole anise seeds. I also rolled the cookies in cinnamon/sugar while they were hot to get the texture and appearance I was looking for. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. They were AWESOME and just how I remember them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very dry, think it might be too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I did not have any Brandy in the house ~ so I used instead 1/2 C.of red wine plus 1/2 C. of fresh squeezed orange juice (these ingredients are common variations to traditional biscochito recipe's instead of using Brandy), also I used Butter Flavor Crisco instead of Lard and they turned out really good! I have used Lard before and as I live in N.M.that might be the preferred old fashioned way to do it (which I have) but I think the Butter Crisco gives them a lightness in the batter. These cookies get dusted with cinnamon/sugar before AND after baking - cooled on a wire rack - I would highly recommend this recipe -I only tweaked it slightly but this recipe is A KEEPER!! Great Dunkers in coffee OR milk =] P.S. I DID sift the dry ingredients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzyQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These were very good! I used 1 tblsp brandy flavoring and used milk to make up for the rest of the liquid from the lack of brandy. I also added a little more anise because I know I like my biscochitos a little more anisey! :) Took me back home to Albuquerque!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I am a vegetarian so i didn't use lard - i used butter instead and orange juice instead of brandy. they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMYSVP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I'd actually rate these closer to 5 stars if I made them with lard, but I just don't like the smell of lard, so I used shortening instead. As a native New Mexican, biscochitos mean Christmas to me. I never really knew how my grandma made her version, but these are pretty darn close. Delicious recipe- thanks for sharing! My only piece of advice is to not overwork the dough- biscochito dough is supposed to be crumbly and this one is- it seems like it needs more liquid, but don't add it- the crumbly dough leads to flaky delicious cookies. Also, I rolled mine in the cinnamon sugar after baking since that is what my grandmother always did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These were yummy! I didn't have brandy so I used whiskey instead. The lard gives a distinct flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States