Biscochitos Traditional Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2007
Very good sugar cookies with just a hint of licorice flavor! I couldn't find lard so I used butter instead and they still turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This recipe is the best. My Grandmother used to make me these cookies as a little girl. The only difference to the recipe was she used ( pineapple-juice)instead of (brandy). She would roll the cookies in the sugar & cinnamon when the cookies were still hot. Thank You VERY MUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lennox, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
Well, first off: Never send a man to do a womans job. :p My husband bought All Vegetable Shortnening instead of lard. Still, they came out DELICIOUS! I was told they come out better w/ lard, so i'll use that next time. Also, I used brandy, not pineapple juice like another suggested, but I did use PJ to moisten up the dough when needed. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmcwf22

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
DELICIOUS! I'm Latina... these cookies bring back memories of baking at Xmas with my Grandmother! A couple of suggestions: (1) Melt lard in the microwave before mixing it with sugar.... it keeps the dough more moist when rolling; (2) Use 1 Tablespoon of Anise Liquid instead of seeds; (3) at Xmas, coat w red & green sugar sprinkles instead of sugar & cinnamon; (4) Use bread flour instead of all purpose flour & ALWAYS sift it; (5) NEVER substitute Crisco, butter or Vegetable Oil for the lard. Notes: #2 - I don't like licorice but love these cookies. By using anise liquid instead of seeds, the taste spreads thru the cookie & isn't as overpowering! Even my Mexican family prefers them over my grandmother's own recipe with anise seeds! #4 -- Bread flour helps keep the cookie light like shortbread instead of dense & heavy. I have used wheat flour & it doesn't change flavor just texture. Don't forget to sift the flour as this too helps keep them light & flaky. #5 -- I know I know, the lard has 10,000 calories & it's all fat! But, the cookie is supposed to be flaky & a light shortbread consistency; you lose that texture with other shortenings & they become heavy & dense. I try to eat healthy & use Canola butter, wheat flour, splenda in recipes but this isn't one of them that works with substitutes. Eat them once or twice a year guilt free then get on the bike & do some cardio. Trust me, after 46 years of eating these cookies, you won't regret the indulgence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I am glad I came across this recipe. I made about 4 dozen of these cookies they where delicious. Everyone loved them for the holidays they went great with hot chocolate or coffee!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This recipe brought back memories of my grandmother! I loved them. They tasted just like the ones she made for us as children. My grandmothers recipes is almost exact except for a couple small details. Her recipe used only 1 C of sugar, and she used 3 eggs. She also used orange juice (I like to use OJ) or whiskey for the liquid. This is a keeper! My daughter loved cutting the cookies out and sprinkling them with cinnamon sugar. We used to dip them in Coffee when we were kids, I guess because that's what the grown ups did and I wanted to be "grown up" too... can I go back to being a kid now if I don't dip them in coffee? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
These are as good as my sister-in-laws SECRET RECIPE that she won't give out. My husband loves biscochitos and these won him over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My mother has been making these cookies all my life - it wouldn't be Christmas without them! We have always used small (1 inch) cookie cutters in various shapes. We put the cookies in a bowl filled with cinnamon/sugar and then put them on the baking sheet - then back in the sugar when they come out of the oven! My family eats them like popcorn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I made this for a hispanic friend of mine. She never said how they were so..... My husband thought they were good. Update: My hispanic friend said these were wonderful! She said they brought back memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMMA37

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
These weren't exactly like Grandma used to make, but they did take me back. Next time I'll add more anise. The dough got rather crumbly so I had to keep adding butter. This recipe's a keeper~~~I'll just tweek it to make it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRIQFX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States