Biscochitos Traditional Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
A little dry, but I loved the anise seed and cinnamon taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Made these for my family but no one liked them because of the licorice flavor. Made a second time without anise seed and with pineapple juice, and rolled them into balls before baking because I just don't have the counter space to roll out dough. They were gone before the oven was cool. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
SIMPLE, QUICK & DELICIOUS! These were lovely. I whipped them up to take with us on an outing. I never knew lard-based cookies could taste sooooooooo good!. My family loved them. I cut up my dough with a pizza cutter to save time. But I got my daughter to roll them in the cinnamon sugar when they came out of the oven. I will make these again. GREAT RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruzmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Im Happy to see someone finally have this recipe with lard and not butter or just shortening, the way its supose to be made. I have awesome memories of making these with my grandmother ( no rum ) lol I love it! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
This recipe brought back memories of my grandmother! I loved them. They tasted just like the ones she made for us as children. My grandmothers recipes is almost exact except for a couple small details. Her recipe used only 1 C of sugar, and she used 3 eggs. She also used orange juice (I like to use OJ) or whiskey for the liquid. This is a keeper! My daughter loved cutting the cookies out and sprinkling them with cinnamon sugar. We used to dip them in Coffee when we were kids, I guess because that's what the grown ups did and I wanted to be "grown up" too... can I go back to being a kid now if I don't dip them in coffee? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
I am giving this recipe 4 stars because of the ease and the basic ingredients used. The cookies were quite good, the directions were clear and concise and the baking time was spot-on. However, I did not give them 5 stars because they are definitely not **quite** authentic. My sisters and I made these cookies to include in my welcome baskets for the guests attending my wedding in Santa Fe, NM and the recipe we used had about 15-20 ingredients and the cookies were MUCH more authentic tasting. I did not have most of the ingredients on-hand (or the time or desire!!) to duplicate that recipe. This is an easy, very quick recipe that will give you good results but is missing just a little **something**.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
These weren't exactly like Grandma used to make, but they did take me back. Next time I'll add more anise. The dough got rather crumbly so I had to keep adding butter. This recipe's a keeper~~~I'll just tweek it to make it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRIQFX

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
Very happy go come across this recipe. My Grandmother use to make Biscochitos when all us grand kids were little. I made them for my kids and they fell in love. I will be making them again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Proud Mom of 6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rowland Heights, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Made these for my partner who was is a New Mexico transplant. She couldn't wait for them to cool before she was eating them. She claims they are totally authentic. The only suggestion would be to dip the cookies in cinnamon & sugar (liberally) after they come out of the oven - as soon as cool enough to touch. Otherwise...perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My mother has been making these cookies all my life - it wouldn't be Christmas without them! We have always used small (1 inch) cookie cutters in various shapes. We put the cookies in a bowl filled with cinnamon/sugar and then put them on the baking sheet - then back in the sugar when they come out of the oven! My family eats them like popcorn!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States