Biscochitos Traditional Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I'd actually rate these closer to 5 stars if I made them with lard, but I just don't like the smell of lard, so I used shortening instead. As a native New Mexican, biscochitos mean Christmas to me. I never really knew how my grandma made her version, but these are pretty darn close. Delicious recipe- thanks for sharing! My only piece of advice is to not overwork the dough- biscochito dough is supposed to be crumbly and this one is- it seems like it needs more liquid, but don't add it- the crumbly dough leads to flaky delicious cookies. Also, I rolled mine in the cinnamon sugar after baking since that is what my grandmother always did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These were yummy! I didn't have brandy so I used whiskey instead. The lard gives a distinct flavor. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheCattlemansWife
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Made these for my son's baptism - wonderful! I used rum instead of brandy and 2 teaspoons of anise seed extract. I coated cookies in cinnamon/sugar before and after baking. You must make the cookies very thick, otherwise they will crack and break while you are coating them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheCattlemansWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pie Town, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This is the same recipe I have used for 12 years now. Everyone loves them. One thing I do different is I put 1 or more cups of sugar in a shallow container with cinnamon to your liking and as I cut I put cookies in the mixture and give them a good dusting. You'll never go wrong with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very yummy but my batch was a little dry/crumbly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Wonderful!!! Thank you Becky for the great recipe, these taste just like my grandma's cookies. instead of brandy i added vanilla with no anise seeds, and they tasted identical to hers. Again thanks for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by James Gurule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Espanola, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
These cookies were very good. Can't stop eatting them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
DELICIOUS! I'm Latina... these cookies bring back memories of baking at Xmas with my Grandmother! A couple of suggestions: (1) Melt lard in the microwave before mixing it with sugar.... it keeps the dough more moist when rolling; (2) Use 1 Tablespoon of Anise Liquid instead of seeds; (3) at Xmas, coat w red & green sugar sprinkles instead of sugar & cinnamon; (4) Use bread flour instead of all purpose flour & ALWAYS sift it; (5) NEVER substitute Crisco, butter or Vegetable Oil for the lard. Notes: #2 - I don't like licorice but love these cookies. By using anise liquid instead of seeds, the taste spreads thru the cookie & isn't as overpowering! Even my Mexican family prefers them over my grandmother's own recipe with anise seeds! #4 -- Bread flour helps keep the cookie light like shortbread instead of dense & heavy. I have used wheat flour & it doesn't change flavor just texture. Don't forget to sift the flour as this too helps keep them light & flaky. #5 -- I know I know, the lard has 10,000 calories & it's all fat! But, the cookie is supposed to be flaky & a light shortbread consistency; you lose that texture with other shortenings & they become heavy & dense. I try to eat healthy & use Canola butter, wheat flour, splenda in recipes but this isn't one of them that works with substitutes. Eat them once or twice a year guilt free then get on the bike & do some cardio. Trust me, after 46 years of eating these cookies, you won't regret the indulgence!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
Excellent cookies. Family and co-workers couldn't get enough!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
I made these for my son cause he is doing new mexico as his state project we loved them! We used shotening we haven't used lard yet, is it better? but they are still great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States