Biscochitos Traditional Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2015
Coming from a Hispanic background, Bizcochitos are a holiday must. We have used this recipe for years with regular flour and the cookies are a no fail. However, we are gluten free due to inflammation and digestive issues. I was worried but used a good gluten free flour on a one to one exchange and had the same wonderful results. I did learn, however, that if you beat/mix the cookie dough too long that the cookies come out crumbly and dry. This recipe is basically a shortbread recipe and the cookies should be dry but not crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by La Pinta Negra

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2015
I was born and raised in Albuquerque, New Mexico. They are not traditional shaped like that they were rolled out and cut slices into one side and roll them into the cookie forming little hoops, then baked. The cookies are supposed to almost melt in your mouth. Delious recipe, not correct shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alyse Carpenter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I had never heard of biscochitos (I am a NM transplant) but was asked to make some. Searched here and found this recipe....followed it exactly as written except I subbed orange juice for the brandy. DELICIOUS!!!! So easy...turned out perfect from the first batch to the last (I made 4). This is now an annual tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clayton, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
I use solid coconut oil instead of lard, one gets the same texture as lard. Then I share with my healthier family and friends. Also the thinner roll makes for a better dipping cookie (in milk or coffee). Reduce baking time if thinner cookie is desired. Fantastico!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally's OneOpinion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
So, my daughter leaves for school at 8:00 this morning, then texts me at 8:30 telling me she needs to bring a treat for her Spanish class today for "cultural day". I whipped up a half a batch of these, using half butter/half Crisco and OJ for the brandy. Nice little cookie, with just a hint of anise flavor. She was very happy when I dropped these off during her lunch period with a printout of the cookie's origin, thanks to Wikipedia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
just like grandma/mom used to make, i now see why mine are different, i use shortening, still good but i bet the lard is the magic ingredient. i also used spiced rum, it's what i had on hand, i think my mom used port wine? regardless, these always bring back the most wonderful memories, i want to cry when i taste the first cookie, takes me back to my mothers kitchen as a little girl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Came out amazing followed it exactly only it felt a little to crumbly at first added just a tiny bit of hot water to help gather a ball to roll! But they came out exactly like I expected they way I know biscochitos taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Too dry, bland, not tasty at all. Minus 1 star. Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PharmDJD
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I've always wanted to be able to make biscochitos like a family friend made when I was a kid, and as soon as I smelled this dough, I knew this was it! To match my memories I used cream sherry instead of brandy, and 1 teaspoon anise extract instead of whole anise seeds. I also rolled the cookies in cinnamon/sugar while they were hot to get the texture and appearance I was looking for. Otherwise, I followed the recipe. They were AWESOME and just how I remember them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very dry, think it might be too much flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States