Biscochitos I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This is the official State Cookie of New Mexico. I was tentative as I am not a huge anise fan but these were great. I used white wine instead of rum as I saw it in another recipe. Also debated a very long time in the store on lard vs. Crisco. Crisco won. No trouble rolling them out and they came out very light and shortbread like. I smushed the anise with the flat side of a mallet before adding. Make 1/2 a recipe unless you are feeding a crowd. It makes a TON. Think this is in my Christmas cookie rotation from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GrannyFoodie
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
A real hit! Thank you for the nostalgia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I made these cookies last nigh with my son for a school project; they turned out wonderful! I didn't have any lard so I use Butter Flavored Crisco. I also soaked the anise seeds in the Brandy for about an hour before adding to the creamed mix. We had a hard time mixing the dough before adding the final 2 cups of flour mixture so I added 1-2 tablespoons of water this made the dough a little more pliable and easy to roll out. Will defiantly make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicki Hauserman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This recipe is almost identical to the one I have been using for years. With one exception. Actually, two. I never use brandy or wine. Mostly because I never seem to have it on hand when I need it. I just use water. The biggest difference is that I have gone back to using 1 lb of lard, which is the "most" traditional. In an attempt to ameliorate bad fat impact, I had tried margarine (both regular and diet), butter, crisco and butter flavored crisco. They just don't have the result that lard gives. It is a firm, crumbly cookie - not crisp or "chewy" - much like a Pecan Sandie in texture. I roll the dough out and use a bottle lid to cut bite size cookies so I always end up with waaaay more than 3 dozen cookies. I gave up years ago using fancy cuts since the star or angel or whatever always got misshapen in transferring it to the cookie sheet. I press the rounds into a cinnamon sugar mixture and then lay them on a cookie sheet. Keep in mind that humidity levels can affect the amount of liquid you need. When I got my recipe over 60 years ago, it said "1/4 C, more or less as needed, of brandy" so I already knew to adjust liquid levels as needed. Pat Quinto Kemm Mann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Very dry. Being Native New Mexican, very disappointed in this recipe. Think it is too much flour. Even added an extra egg to the 6 cups but still very dry. I know this is supposed to be a "dry" cookie, but this was too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
this recipe was okay, my dough was really dry and crumbly, it would not hold together. I followed the directions for the recipe exactly and the cookies ended up being really dry and fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
This is the closest recipe I know to the original "Grandma Sofia Biscochitos!" I did not use lard, instead I used Crisco butter flavored sticks. That's what made it buttery all right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mogotecoyote

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alamosa, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Traditional Biscochitos are made with lard not shortening they come out so much better and flakier, made with the tridational lard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Excellent recipe, absolutely loved it! I did not have anise and substituted with Mexican vanilla "Molina" and also substituted brandy with fresh orange juice and added the orange zest. Baked for 10 minutes and they came out heavenly soft and delicious!!!! Thank you for this recipe, it is a keeper. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Absolutely what I was looking for! Used to get these as a kid at the local Mexican bakeries here in Washington state (very few). Made a similar recipe for my brothers wedding then lost it! This one was a bit different but fabulous. I was hesitant about the whole anise seed so I ground it instead, then accidently put 2 Tbsp rather than the 2 tsp, the flavor was heavenly!!!! I also prefer to bake them plain then toss gently in a bowl of cinnamon & sugar. The texture was devine. I LOVE, LOVE this recipe and will take these tonight to my family's Christmas eve gathering....they will be a great ending after eating tamales all night! Thank you for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Gingerbread Men

See how to make easy 5-star gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States