Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made this cake and it did not have a good taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I like this recipe...I use this one whenever I bake my kids birthday cakes. It is quick and easy and the kids like it. I found it a bit too sweet though and I did cut back on a half a cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This cake turned out great! It didn't taste salty or anything like cornbread, as some of the other reviews stated. It was moist, and had a dense texture and sweet flavour. I put butterscotch pudding between the layers and iced it w/buttercream frosting. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~IndigoMouse~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
it tasted a little weird
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babychef
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Ddin't work out for me. Texture was like cornbread, taste was blah. Glad I tried a practice run before I served it to people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OlliesMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This cake was a heavier cake like pound cake, but I found it to be the best vanilla cake recipe I have ever made. You must use cake flour, and you must sift it. For those who would like it lighter I would suggest maybe using 3 whole eggs instead of 7 egg yolks. My only addition to this recipe was a 1/4 tsp of lemon extract. I used a light whipped cream frosting. It would probably make an excellent Jello cake or used for strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
GREAT! After reading all the bad reviews, I was really wary of the recipe but ended up trying it anyway. This is a wonderful cake and I would highly recommend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
This is the single worst recipe I've ever gotten from this website - the recipes are usually great. The cake tasted like badly cooked pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I made this for my mom for her birthday and now I feel bad because I worked hard on it. I wanted to make my mom a good cake and this was the opposite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Should have read the other reviews first. Terrible. Like unsweetened pound cake, only yuckier. Just Awefull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States