Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made this cake and it did not have a good taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
I like this recipe...I use this one whenever I bake my kids birthday cakes. It is quick and easy and the kids like it. I found it a bit too sweet though and I did cut back on a half a cup of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This cake turned out great! It didn't taste salty or anything like cornbread, as some of the other reviews stated. It was moist, and had a dense texture and sweet flavour. I put butterscotch pudding between the layers and iced it w/buttercream frosting. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~IndigoMouse~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
it tasted a little weird
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babychef
Living In: Waldorf, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
Ddin't work out for me. Texture was like cornbread, taste was blah. Glad I tried a practice run before I served it to people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OlliesMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This cake was a heavier cake like pound cake, but I found it to be the best vanilla cake recipe I have ever made. You must use cake flour, and you must sift it. For those who would like it lighter I would suggest maybe using 3 whole eggs instead of 7 egg yolks. My only addition to this recipe was a 1/4 tsp of lemon extract. I used a light whipped cream frosting. It would probably make an excellent Jello cake or used for strawberry shortcake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
GREAT! After reading all the bad reviews, I was really wary of the recipe but ended up trying it anyway. This is a wonderful cake and I would highly recommend it to anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2004
This is the single worst recipe I've ever gotten from this website - the recipes are usually great. The cake tasted like badly cooked pancakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2004
I made this for my mom for her birthday and now I feel bad because I worked hard on it. I wanted to make my mom a good cake and this was the opposite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
Should have read the other reviews first. Terrible. Like unsweetened pound cake, only yuckier. Just Awefull.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Scottley's Basic Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple homemade yellow cake.

David’s Yellow Cake

See how to make a moist yellow cake from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States