Birthday Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
As an experienced baker, I should have known that stated cooking times are only guides! So many variables...your oven's temperature, size and thickness of cookies, etc. Baking my "bones" for 20 minutes was far too long, even though I used a 4" cookie cutter. I would recommend starting out with a baking time several minutes less than recipe states. You can always add time, but you can't undo it! Other than my own error, these were wonderful little treats. Quick and easy to mix together and roll out. I thought puppy might appreciate a little sweetness so I, too, added a bit of honey. If I can find a recipe, next time I make these I would like to try a yogurt frosting for these similar to what they use at retail stores like the Stylish Paw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I made these biscuits the other night for my three dogs - a collie, a black lab mix, and a shih tzu. The first batch I rolled out too thin and baked for too long so they turned out to be a little darker than what I had planned. The dogs didn't mind, they ate them anyway. I didn't have any skim milk on hand and I also didn't have any whole wheat flour so I used all-purpose flour and substituted apple sauce for the milk. I also added a tablespoon of honey for a little splash of sweetness. The dough tasted great and Dana, Midnight, and Annie love the treats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lindenhurst, New York, USA
Living In: White Mills, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOXFIRE2
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
I made these this morning as gifts to go with one of my dogs who is being sent to Ontario to be bred. These dog cookies are so easy! I have an expensive healthy dog cookie book where most recipes require a long list of real ingrediants including powdered milk or corn meal. The latter ingredients I rarely use, so I have to plan making dog cookies instead of being spontaneous. I had all 4 ingrdients in this recipe - and they are healthy! I have Toy Manchester Terriers and as another member suggested I just rolled the dough into teeny tiny balls and pressed them with a fork as I would a peanut butter cookie. I ended up throwing out almost half the dough because after rolling more than 150 little balls I was tired!!! So next time I will half the recipe. I baked the wee little cookies for about 7-10 minutes just until they were golden brown on the bottom. They were too cute! They look just like mini peanut butter cookies! As mentioned most of these cookies were used as doggie gift packages. I use a small brown paper bag and fold it closed near the top. I staple it once, then make a hole with a hole punch and make a nice bow with twine. I either use color markers to write on the bag or add a tag with the twine! Thank you Tami for an amazing and much appreciated dog cookie recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOXFIRE2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Digby, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
I used the ingredients on hand and somehow spruced up this recipe quite a bit. I used whole wheat pancake mix since it already had the baking powder in it, and substituted about 1/2 of the milk with banana baby food; I thought that would be a great combo with the peanut butter. The dog loved the treats, and I thought the dough tasted pretty good myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2007
I make these for my Aussie pup and always keep them on hand for training purposes. I roll out the dough, put it on a greased cookie sheet, then roll a pizza cutter thru them and make them rather small- about 1 inch squares, then bake until crispy. This is a quick and easy way to make lots of treats. She loves them!! I use them at obedience class and all the dogs just love them. They will do anything for these treats. Great recipe, healthy, and much cheaper than store bought treats. If you're concerned about the ingredients in store bought treats- these are perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
I made these for our Golden Retriever for Christmas. I didn't use a cookie cutter, just rolled them in balls and pressed a fork across the top (mostly so I could distinguish the her cookies from the 'human' cookies). Very easy, very happy dog!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Made these and found that you have to make sure the dough is very thin before cutting and cooking and also flip half way through or these come out crunchy ont the bottom and soft and squishy on the top. Also if you leave them too long with out flipping the bottom can burn. Like the fact that this was a very easy recipe and doesn't take a lot of work. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
My dog loves peanut butter so this was the perfect treat! I ran out of this treat yesterday so I give him a milkbone treat instead and he spit it out and just looked at me. I guess he likes the homemade ones better! :-) Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2006
My children and I used this recipe for a fundraiser for animal victims of Hurricane Katrina. We raised over $500 selling these biscuits. Thank you for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
I made these for my 5 pound Maltese and her friends!!! They loved them!! I used the large bone shapped cookie cutters for the larger critters and cut "bite size" kibble for my wee little fur ball since her jaw is the size of my index finger (really *smile*). SEE MY PHOTO!!! I doubled the recipe and it made a massive mount. Next time, I will roll the dough thinner since these biscuits rose higher than expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LucyDelRey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Marina Del Rey, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States