Birthday Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Little changes, but happy pooches! Wheat gluten isn't that great for dogs, neither is dairy, but loved the idea of quick easy cheap treats! I just subbed brown rice flour and veg broth for the flour and milk. I also added some honey. I rolled the dough out on parchment and ran thru it with a pizza cutter. Clean up is easier and my old lady doesn't care what shape her treats are!!! These are SO much easier on her GI system and my wallet!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connorsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I made these for my Picky Pug Princess the other day for her birthday. She will NOT eat any kind of doggy treat bought at the store. She did eat one or two of these but since then, she refuses to eat any more. I ended up giving them away to other doggies that aren't quite as spoiled. I give it a 4 because she DID eat one and the other dogs seemed to like it. **on the other hand, my neighbor seemed to really like them. They must go great with beer**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
This was really easy to make! But I have to agree with others when they say its bland. My dog doesn't usually like dog biscuits but he LOVES peanut butter, so I thought I would give it a try. He ate it slow but liked it. Dog rating i would say 3 stars. I did not use milk because its bad for dogs. Instead I used 1/2 cup water 1/2 beef broth. Next time I'm going to use just beef broth. I also put in 1 table spoon of molasses. I used Adams Chunky natural peanut butter. Gave it a little extra texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
Thanks for the great cookie recipe! I too put a little honey on top and then sprinkled with just a little brown sugar. I used 3 different "butters"- almond, peanut and sunflower. I also added garlic! Strange, maybe, but I like to sneak garlic to my dogs every chance I get. It's so good for them. My canine version of Mikey ate them immediately (he'll eat anything), but they passed the taste test when my picky princess asked for more! These are now a staple in the treat jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Marteal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tyro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I am rating these 5 stars even though I did not taste them, but based on the reaction of the dog, they were fantastic! My son made a batch he is going to take to the local animal shelter for the homeless pups. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lordst2
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I just made these and my dogs went NUTS!! This is a fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by From My Plate to Yours
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
I have made these many times since my initial baking, and have since then made cat poop shaped cookies and simple round cookies in addition to my cute cutout shapes, all of which I coated in sugar-free carob, a dog safe alternative to chocolate. The cat poop was so realistic, the pictures got banned from Myspace - but so delicious, say the dogs! I used a candy mold for the round cookies, to make skulls and spiderwebs on them. I posted a picture in the photos for this recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by From My Plate to Yours
Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Its hard to tell because my cocker spaniel will eat most anything but he sure loves these...! and they smelled just like a peanut butter cookie. Was a bit of a pain rolling out the dough and cutting out the little hydrants and bones but they sure were cute so they were worth it. My dog didn't notice the work I went thru though. ;) I made a double batch and gave out little doggie bags to friends with dogs that visited over the holidaysl
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn Dawe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
My dog LOVES these and they are soooo easy to make. We did not have a small cookie cutter so we used a shot glass... just perfect for our austrialian cattle dog/collie mix! I will certainly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JULI42298

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
These treats are like crack to my dogs. I even made doggy bags for all dog owners in my office as a Christmas treat-everyone's dogs couldn't get enough. With such an easy recipe, this will be a recipe I use for a long time to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 294) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Winter Simmer Pot

See how to make a simmering pot of aromatics for your home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States