Birthday Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
They crumble, but every dog I know goes insane over them and spends an hour vacuuming the area for any potentially missed crumb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
GAVE THESE TREATS TO MY GRANDPUPPIES FOR XMAS. THEY NOW REFUSE THEIR OLD TREATS. GREAT RECIPE. THE DOUGH IS GREAT TO WORK WITH-EVEN AFTER THIRD ROLLING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
My dogs were mad at me and didn't understand that these had to be cooled before they got one. Once my dogs got a taste they wouldn't stop begging. Beware dogs love these and will do anything for them. I didn't time them when cooking... just waited til' they were golden brown. I shaped them all Christmas theme and now a bunch are in a tin for my boyfriends family dogs! Santa gets milk and cookies... what about the doggies? =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
My golden retriever loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I made these for X-mas for all my furry friends. I made a double recipe. But, I used honey roast crunchy peanut butter(its what I had avail) and added a little extra, used 2% milk, and all purpose flour and added a little salt because the batter was really bland. However, my dogs LOVE them! I'm going to start using this recipe instead of buying treat bones from the store. Next time I think I will try it with whole wheat flour, I'm thinking it may add more flavor... EDIT: I changed this recipe from 4* to 5* because now I HAVE to use this recipe instead of store bought bones. My dogs now refuse the other kind. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I made a small change to the recipe by adding 1/4 cup of applesauce and cutting down the milk a bit, as well as adding a table spoon of ground flax seed. It was easy and fun to cut out the little bones, but the cooking time was off for me. I flipped them after ten minutes on my first batch, and then cooked them for the other ten, but they were all burnt. The next ones I cooked them for 7 minutes on one side and about 7-8 on the other and they turned out much nicer. Aside from being careful they don't burn, but are nice and cruncy, my dogs loved them! I will try the ones adding banana, and also using blueberry puree in some next, for some new flavors. I would also like to try some using gluten free flour for our more sensitive dogs....overall would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I dont know if anyone has mentioned that dogs should not have wheat if you can help it, you should use rice flour instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Syd0224
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Just finished making these. I used crunchy peanut butter and used half a cup milk, half a cup of applesauce. These small great and are going fast. I have a big dog so I made larger cookies, about 3 inches long, and it made about 25 cookies so I would not half the recipe. I also added a touch of honey for sweetness and baked them about 12 - 15 minutes. They came out great and I will definitely make them again. They were very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Syd0224

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
The dough was very easy to work with. I've been baking homemade dog treats for years now, and this is in my top 10 easiest recipes. I tested these out on my mom's dogs (picky eaters) and they gobbled them up. I melted carob (chocolate substitute safe for pups) and dipped the cookies for a beautiful presentation (and all my dogs go bonkers for it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dkitsuen
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
My dog loves these treats. Very easy and quick to make. Sometimes I add in a little bit of bacon or honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkitsuen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 287) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States