Birthday Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
My 5 dogs, and my kids' 2 dogs loved these. Now they're begging me to make more, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
I don't change a thing in this recipe other than the baking time, mine bakes in 10-12 minutes. Don't worry if they come out soft they harden as soon as they cool and keep well in airtight containers or zip locks for weeks- if they last of course- My dog owner friends and family always ask for these because the dogs love them and they are much healthier than the versions sold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodiemonster

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
These were a huge hit with my beagle and the several other dogs I gave them to. They're also VERY easy to make, and they freeze well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Our new puppy LOVES these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tahoegirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
my dog LOVES these and she'll choose to eat them over all the other treats she has!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This is a great basic recipe that you can make so many modifications to! I substituted brown rice flour for the wheat flour based on some other suggestions. I also substituted plain yogurt instead of milk. I might have to add a tiny bit more yogurt next time as it was just a little dry. But it was still really easy to work with. I rolled my dough into little balls and then flattened them out. I cooked it for about 7-10 minutes. It cooks really fast. These are so great and easy! I think next time I'll try it with carrots instead of peanut butter and also try it with cheese (they love their cheese). Thanks so much for sharing, this is great! A lot cheaper and healthier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These treats are fantastic! I made them for my friend's dog, but I had to try some as I was making them, and they are delicious. Now mind you, I followed someone else's advice and used applesauce instead of milk, so that may make a difference in flavor. It would be a great treat for a dog's birthday party so all of the attendees can enjoy the same food. I might make these just for myself sometime, who needs a dog?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
My dog is allergic to dairy, so I substituted 2 ripe bananas and some apple sauce for liquid. He just loves them! I use natural smooth peanut butter, which I find easier to mix because it's quite runny at room temperature. My cooking time was 12 minutes @ 375, but them I turn off the oven and leave them to harden for about an hour. It's such a great, simple recipe and makes 100 cookies for my small dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
It might be because I'm at high altitude, but the batter was dry, and the bones ended up getting cracked in the oven. It needed more peanut butter and milk for a little moisture. Also, the temperature of the oven was way off. Now that I'm reading the other reviews, I see I'm not the only one with this problem. The bottoms turned brown after about 12 minutes but before the insides and tops were done. I had to lower the temperature and flip the bones so they could finish without burning. The oven almost needs to be set at about 300 or 325 degrees and just let them bake a lot longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Just made these for my four dogs. Very easy to make! I cooked mine for only about 14 minutes, and they came out very nicely. Thanks for the quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davinci

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 300) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Organic Homemade Baby Food

What's cooking in Ypsilanti? Brenda's yummy homemade baby food.

Chef John's Dijon Mustard

See how to make homemade Dijon-style mustard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States