Birthday Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 24, 2013
My dog and goats love these! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gyoza Girl
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
I just pulled these out of the oven, and OH MY GOD!! These were SO easy to make. The only challenge was to mix together the PB and milk. But the dough wasn't sticky AT ALL. I didn't even need to transfer to a floured surface. I had to cut it down to '14' servings, though, because I was low on flour, and all the measurements still turned out perfect. These baked up in about 17 minutes in my old-as-time oven. They look pretty crunchy, but they're really quite crumbly and soft. This is perfect for small dogs, like my Shih tzu, who can't just gobble down a whole bone. These are by far the easiest dog bones I've ever made. (I used to have a small business selling dog bones.) The dough is easy to shape (I made fun shapes after using cookies cutters, like mini-gyoza, fortune cookies, and even a big hamburger) and to roll. They also cool off really quickly, and that's awesome because, if you're a shih tzu owner, you know how impatient they can be! :) My little pup was literally scratching at my legs as I took them out of the oven. She gobbled three right down in a row. Long review short- THESE ARE PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gyoza Girl
Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This recipe is a keeper!! My dogs went nuts ovee these!!! I did use 1/2 milk 1/2 beef broth and added a little cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
So simple, and the puppies went berserk over them! I ordered a dog bone cookie cutter online and was surprised that was only an inch long, and I made a double batch of the dough. In the end, I literally had hundreds of little dog biscuits, which were a smashing hit for our last house party and fun party favors for our canine guests! Its nice that they are edible for people too, if a little tasteless, for those guests who don't read the sign that says "Dog Treats"... I should note however, that small dog biscuits need MUCH less cooking time! I think I baked mine for only 10-12 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I used reg.unbleached flour as I had no wheat flour. Also used organic beef broth instead of milk and added about a T.of Black Strap molasses.Also used reg. peanut butter.I did add flax seed as suggested by another.Baking powder is toxic for dogs but in Large Amounts or fed straight! So I didn't worry when another said she wouldn't use this recipe due to that ingredient.I doubled the recipe since we have 3 dogs.I also took the advice & let them stay in the oven to cool for extra crispness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alex

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Both dogs, Bella and Bailey ate them. But they eat everything. They didn't go crazy over them as I thought they would from everyone else's reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chloe's Mommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
These biscuits are a hit with my dog. The ingredients are easy and not odd. I think next time I would like to add chopped dried raisins for sweetness, since my dog love sweet things. I listened to another reviewer and placed my 1" x 4" x 1/8" dog cookies in for 12 minutes and added time. I agree: adding time is easier/you can't subtract time in the oven! They came out crunchy at 17 minutes in a regular oven on a dark cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ttownbeth

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
These were soooo easy to make! So easy, in fact, that I made 1200 small heart shaped ones for an event I sold them at. I made as directed, but I had some carrot juice in the fridge so on some of them I used 3/4c milk and 1/4c carrot juice to change it up. My dog loves them, and my house smells like peanut butter. A real winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAG'S MOM

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Quick and easy to make. My kids actually made them and used play dough cutters to make shapes. My labradoodle and maltipoo loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BOOSAYKY
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
My pups loved the treats. The only changes I made was 1 cup flour and one cup oat meal. And my 8 year old son love makeing them with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States