Birthday Bones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
This is a great basic recipe that you can make so many modifications to! I substituted brown rice flour for the wheat flour based on some other suggestions. I also substituted plain yogurt instead of milk. I might have to add a tiny bit more yogurt next time as it was just a little dry. But it was still really easy to work with. I rolled my dough into little balls and then flattened them out. I cooked it for about 7-10 minutes. It cooks really fast. These are so great and easy! I think next time I'll try it with carrots instead of peanut butter and also try it with cheese (they love their cheese). Thanks so much for sharing, this is great! A lot cheaper and healthier too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
These treats are fantastic! I made them for my friend's dog, but I had to try some as I was making them, and they are delicious. Now mind you, I followed someone else's advice and used applesauce instead of milk, so that may make a difference in flavor. It would be a great treat for a dog's birthday party so all of the attendees can enjoy the same food. I might make these just for myself sometime, who needs a dog?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
My dog is allergic to dairy, so I substituted 2 ripe bananas and some apple sauce for liquid. He just loves them! I use natural smooth peanut butter, which I find easier to mix because it's quite runny at room temperature. My cooking time was 12 minutes @ 375, but them I turn off the oven and leave them to harden for about an hour. It's such a great, simple recipe and makes 100 cookies for my small dog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
It might be because I'm at high altitude, but the batter was dry, and the bones ended up getting cracked in the oven. It needed more peanut butter and milk for a little moisture. Also, the temperature of the oven was way off. Now that I'm reading the other reviews, I see I'm not the only one with this problem. The bottoms turned brown after about 12 minutes but before the insides and tops were done. I had to lower the temperature and flip the bones so they could finish without burning. The oven almost needs to be set at about 300 or 325 degrees and just let them bake a lot longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHIRLEDPEAS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago Ridge, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Just made these for my four dogs. Very easy to make! I cooked mine for only about 14 minutes, and they came out very nicely. Thanks for the quick recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Davinci

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
These are such a hit with the dogs. You can only re roll scraps so many times, so I moosh leftover scraps into a mini muffin pan and bake the same way. You will have "pupcakes" for a change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My babies love these! I make them often and I add molasses. Both dogs seem to like them better if I let them cool in the oven to get crunchy. These are by far the best dog biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by littlemisschocolate
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I think this recipe is AMAZING. I used soynut butter as a substitute because my brother is allergic of peanuts, and my dog still liked them! Definitely making them again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
They crumble, but every dog I know goes insane over them and spends an hour vacuuming the area for any potentially missed crumb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
GAVE THESE TREATS TO MY GRANDPUPPIES FOR XMAS. THEY NOW REFUSE THEIR OLD TREATS. GREAT RECIPE. THE DOUGH IS GREAT TO WORK WITH-EVEN AFTER THIRD ROLLING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 285) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Doggie Birthday Cake

Treat your loyal canine pal to delicious doggie birthday cake.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Homemade Vanilla Extract

See how easy it is to make vanilla extract from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States