Biriyani Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This is how I make Biriyani. It's supper easy and fast. Take boneless chicken cut in to small chunks. Add biriyani masala ( you can buy from the market) yogurt, salt, turmeric powder and cook the chicken. Add a little bit of coconut milk and make it a thick gravy. Then mix well with cooked rice. Add saffron and sprinkle some fried onions on top! Biriyani masala is with all the spices you need so you don't have to add any spices separately. Enjoy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Yummy yumm yum! I love this recipe. Suprised hubby with it. He is from Pakistan. (and me I am a white girl from the midwest.) This is easy to follow. Only difference I made was cut down on the chilies. I only used one.. otherwise..OUCH! So Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Holladay, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Next time I'll use a little less oil, but this was fantastic! No leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I played around with the spices til it was to our taste. The other changes I made were to use fresh mint, and canned tomatoes; I used turmeric to color the rice yellow; I also added about half a cup of heavy cream that needed using up. This turned out really good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
quick, easy, and delish. I used 2.10 # of boneless breasts and cut them into chunk size pieces and just simmered them in the sauce. I could see by the quantity of dry rice that it was wayyyyy too much. I just scaled it down to what I normally use...1 cup rice to 2 cups water. Didn't have any cardamom pods so used 1/2 tsp. ground cardamom. Also stuck 4 cloves in w/the rice and frozen peas. Used heaping 1/4 tsp. tumeric for the yellow color. Very nice dish. Definitely recommend the cilantro. It adds a nice layer of flavor to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
Far too much rice and, although the flavour is nice it needs more. The next time I will make only half of the rice and double the garam masala. Otherwise, it was a hit with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This recipe is great! Turned out great! Biryani, is an art...you just need to practice once or twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
Lots of ingredients with not enough flavor. Portion size was huge...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States