Bird Seed Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I omitted the coconut and pressed it down firmly. They are real good. I'd make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
After a few modifications, this was amazing! I happened to have all this stuff on hand and I wanted to use it up so I tried this recipe. I added peanuts to the dry ingredients and the chocolate powder went into the wet ingredients, as suggested by another reviewer. I thought that the wet ingredients were not wet enough, so I also added 3 tbsp of butter. I originally tried pouring the wet ingredients on top of the dry ingredients, as written the recipe. However, they would not seep down (wet ingredients still too thick), so I ended up just mixing them in. I'm so glad I did; it was not crumbly at all, and it was delicious. I'll definitely be making this again, with the modifications as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This is a really good recipe. I left out the coconut and sesame seeds, I just added more sunflower seeds. I also used Special K cereal. Very tasty and good for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
I LOVE this recipe. It's the best way I've found to get plenty of raw nuts and seeds into my kids. (Baking them compromises the natural oils and makes them much less nutritious.) Tasty without being too sweet. I cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup, and substituted some of the oats with ground flax.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Quick, easy and delish!! Will make again. I used almond butter and no sugar, just the honey. I bought some healthier grain rice cereal at the helathfood store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I love these bars! They are not so healthy with all that sugar, but there is some good nutrition in them, especially if you add in some extras like flax seed and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I'm so glad I found the recipe again! I've made this so many times but misplaced my well loved printed copy! I toast both sesame seeds and flax seeds, sub. 1/4 of flax seeds for the sesame. I also use salted sunflower seeds and unsweetened coconut. Also, to make things easier, I put the cocoa powder in the wet ingredients, mixes better this way. I've made for many people and always get asked for the recipe, I give them the original, never MY changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I hate giving bad reviews but this was a crumbly mess. I didn't change a thing either. What a waste of some expensive ingredients too. This recipe is for the birds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
These are really good. But because I give recipes I like better five stars, I'm giving this one four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I left out the coconut and added some wheat germ. This is a good recipe to mix and match with whatever is in your cabinet. Husband gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States