Bird Seed Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
After a few modifications, this was amazing! I happened to have all this stuff on hand and I wanted to use it up so I tried this recipe. I added peanuts to the dry ingredients and the chocolate powder went into the wet ingredients, as suggested by another reviewer. I thought that the wet ingredients were not wet enough, so I also added 3 tbsp of butter. I originally tried pouring the wet ingredients on top of the dry ingredients, as written the recipe. However, they would not seep down (wet ingredients still too thick), so I ended up just mixing them in. I'm so glad I did; it was not crumbly at all, and it was delicious. I'll definitely be making this again, with the modifications as described.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
Quick, easy and delish!! Will make again. I used almond butter and no sugar, just the honey. I bought some healthier grain rice cereal at the helathfood store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIFESDISASTER
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
We really enjoy these bars and what I do is pack the mixture down into the pan to keep the bars from being crumbly. I also stir the cocoa into the hot liqiud before mixing with the cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIFESDISASTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I hate giving bad reviews but this was a crumbly mess. I didn't change a thing either. What a waste of some expensive ingredients too. This recipe is for the birds...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I love these bars! They are not so healthy with all that sugar, but there is some good nutrition in them, especially if you add in some extras like flax seed and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This is a great, healthy snack to make! The cocoa gives the granola bar great flavor, while not being overly sweet. Very good. My kids gobbled this one up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I made these as directed and they turned out great! I loved the texture of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
made as described to a t, although a bit crumbly..next time i will add 1 cup of peanut butter I think to bind together better, other than that they still were very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
Love it, Love it, Love it!!!! This recipe is easy and fast to make, healthy, and it tastes great! I love the fact that you can use whatever you have in the kitchen and it still turns out yummy. I've made this twice -once with coconut, once without. Both times it was good, although i did like it with the coconut better. I used chunky pb, didn't have sesame seeds, so i added slivered almonds and flax seeds instead. Came out delicious. One thing I did notice is that it doesn't taste so great right after you make it. Wait a day or so, and it's perfect! Next time, I'm going to add even more coconut, and I'll add some marshmellows too. (not very healty, I know, but still good.) Happy non-baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah p

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
These were really simple to make, and I didn't find them to be at all crumbly. I also packed them into the pan, so perhaps that's why. I prefer these to the usual no-bake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States