Bird Seed Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
The taste was great, the idea wonderful, however, it was somewhat crumbly. I will try this recipe again and revise it to make it more "stay together".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIFESDISASTER
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
We really enjoy these bars and what I do is pack the mixture down into the pan to keep the bars from being crumbly. I also stir the cocoa into the hot liqiud before mixing with the cereal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIFESDISASTER

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
These were really simple to make, and I didn't find them to be at all crumbly. I also packed them into the pan, so perhaps that's why. I prefer these to the usual no-bake cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
These were a great treat to throw together for a family treat reminding me of the calssic chocolate no-bake cookies that my grandmother made. OOPs, I left out the peanut butter. We'll just mix that in now. Uh oh, too bad I forgot to add the crispies. No problem, just toss them in. Oops, I forgot the oatmeal too! Ah, it's only been a few minutes, stir those in too. After finally getting ALL the ingredients mixed in I pressed them into the pan (again) and let them set up. They ended up being a bit crumbly, though next time they will be perfect. Also I substituted flax seed for the sunflower seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A Baker's Dozen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
mmm, I like these birdseed squares! they are a nice energy boost before (or after) jogging, a great chocolate fix...and i love the peanut butter flavour, and the variety of seeds/cereal/nuts. It will be fun to try different variations! thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
This is a great, healthy snack to make! The cocoa gives the granola bar great flavor, while not being overly sweet. Very good. My kids gobbled this one up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lombard, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
This is very good and easy. I have made it twice and it disappears quickly. I cut down on the brown sugar after the first time because it was a little too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
I work in a school, so nuts & peanuts are a big no-no. We made this recipe in my baking class, using tahini (sesame paste) instead of peanut butter. It was absolutely delicious. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Strasbourg, Alsace, France
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I left out the coconut and added some wheat germ. This is a good recipe to mix and match with whatever is in your cabinet. Husband gave it 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
These are really good. But because I give recipes I like better five stars, I'm giving this one four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States