Bird Seed Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
I make these often and love them! I do change a few things though. I add the cocoa to the saucepan and cook it with the sugar/honey mixture. I also don't add the vanilla until it is done cooking. You have to work fast. Pour the hot mixture into the cereal mixture right after taking it off the burner, mix it very thoroughly and press into the pan firmly immediately. If you don't go fast, your mixture will become crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I had some not all of the ingredients so what I am reviewing is my interpretation but it turned out fantastically. I did not add the coconut nor the oats. I used Alpen (sugar free)muesli cereal and had some seed and fruit mix sachets added as well. Melted Dark chocolate was sprinkled over the top. Also I didn't use peanut butter but a mix of butter and olive oil which was all I had available.Muscovado sugar (light)was used for the brown sugar. Delicious and almost feels healthy if it wasn't for the sugar and fat dosage!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I swapped in millet for the sesame seeds. Next time I will try using prune purée in place of the honey. I really liked the original, tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Extremely yummy. Popped it in the fridge to cool and they cut perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Very good and relatively speaking, healthy, treat. I didn't have any problems with the mixture being too dry or crumbly as some have reported. The only changes I made were: only 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead of 3/4 cup and I didn't have many sesame seeds so I substituted flax seeds for most of the sesame. I also used a mixture of smooth and crunchy peanut butter.Packed it tightly into a 9x13 using a rubber spatula then cut and stored them between layers of wax paper and put in the frig. Fun snack I hope the children will enjoy as an after school treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This is pretty good. When I made it, it didn't stay together very well, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I made these as directed and they turned out great! I loved the texture of them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
made as described to a t, although a bit crumbly..next time i will add 1 cup of peanut butter I think to bind together better, other than that they still were very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chocoluvs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I hate to give a bad review too but these were just a crumbly mess for me as well. There did not seem to be the right ratio of dry of stick ingredients, because there was so much loose cereal left over afterward, that I will just have to throw out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
love them! great alternative to granola bars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

No Bakes

See how to make a simple chocolate, peanut butter, and oatmeal cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States