Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
These are GREAT! My husband takes them to work and my kids really like them as well. I use raisins in place of the cocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wholewheatbaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I loved these. They are healthy and a great homemade energy bar. I highly recommend for a healthy snack alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I didn't expect to like these but I do! My only complaint would be that the chocolate chips seemed a little out of place - like they needed to be tripled or taken out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
I made a healthier lower fat version that turned out really great. I used 1/2 cup applesauce and 1/2 cup oil, egg beaters instead of eggs and only 1/2 c honey and 1/2 c sugar. I also added some natural peanut butter. They were wonderful, baked them about 30 minutes. Thanks for this great healthy snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
These are pretty good! I just made them with 1/2 applesauce and oil. I did not have any of the seeds and substituted pecans and walnuts for them. Will make again! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
WOW these just came out of the oven and they taste amazing. I made a huge batch for my boyfriend since he is participating in a 12 hour mountain bike race and asked for some "high energy food." i followed some suggestions given by others and added 1/2 cup of applesauce while halving the amount of oil, and also omitted the chocolate chips and used dried cranberries. i didn't have wheat germ so i added an extra cup of quick oats, and i also added 1/2 cup of chopped toasted almonds. this is a very versatile recipe that i'll be using in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sciv
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
Very easy to make and delicious. I packed the mixture down in the sheet cake pan and they made very nice dense bars. I didn't need to modify the recipe - it came out moist and chewy - there was no need to add extra eggs, though I did use both graham and buckwheat flours just because i had them in my cupboard. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
This is a fantastic recipe! The pieces I took to work for my snack were quickly stolen and eaten, and then I was asked by those who did the stealing for the recipe. I cut the pan into smaller squares so I can just grab a few for after the gym or whenever. I put the dry ingredients into my standing mixer bowl, then mixed the wet ingredients in a separate bowl. I added the wet to the dry, and voila, they were ready for the pan. I had no problems spreading them into the pan, I used the back of a metal spoon. I look forward to sharing this recipe with my friends! Oh! I used 1/2C apple sauce and 1/2C oil as suggested. They were nice and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
These were fantastic, and a not too sweet way to start the day, or pre-work out with a cup of coffee or big bottle of water. I substituted dried cherries for the chocolate chips and added some pumpkin seeds as I didn't quite enough sesame seeds. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
These were great. I wrote down all of the suggested "additions" from other reviewers and am eagerly looking forward to trying the different varities. I used 1/2 c. home made sugar free apple sauce I had on hand and 1/2 c. oil like some suggested, to try to cut out some calories. I also added an extra egg. Oh yeah- I cooked this in a jelly-roll pan. It made them plenty thick enough. My hubby wanted something healthy he could grab on his way out the door for the gym in the AM. This is the "ticket"! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States