Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
They were not as moist or crispy as I expected. Next time, I will use all the oil (instead of any applesauce), lots of add-ins (dried fruit and choc chips), and less flour. If that doesn't work, I may just give up on this recipe and go for true granola bars. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. I have been making these 1X a month for the past few months to eat on the way to work. They are great with a cup of coffee and give you the energy you need to get through until lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runner2008
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great recipe! Would put 5 starts if it didn't have so much sugar and honey in it, so I only used half of that. I made adjustments based on what I had on hand/preference. Subbed agave for honey and organic evaporated cane sugar for brown sugar. Subbed half the oil for applesauce and added a little pumpkin for moisture. I doubled the flaxseeds and added some slivered almonds. I was really happy with how they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These came out tasting good, but they crumbled apart and were very dry when I tried to get them out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My family absolutely loves these bars. I substitute craisins for the chocolate chips. For us it's a better fit mainly because unlike chocolate chips, the craisins don't melt in your golf bag when we're out on the course! (Nothing like having gooey chocolate fingers when you're putting for eagle!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
It uses too much honey, so I found the bars a bit too soft. This can be a healthy recipe if you cut some of the honey and sugar from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very yummy & filling. I think next time will take suggestion & use 1/2 cup oil + 1/2 cup applesauce. I also only had 3/4 cup honey, and was plenty sweet & moist. I modified to my taste with 1/2 cup each - flax seed, sunflower seeds, shredded coconut, cranberries & golden raisins. Great base to start & adjust to what you like best in an energy bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
I used chopped peanuts and reeses pieces instead of the sesame seed nuts and chocoolate chips. It was pretty good but I think it needs more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Like several others, I used half oil, half applesauce to cut the fat some. I also split the batter in half and added peanut butter and chocolate chips to one half (for the kids), and chopped cranberries without chocolate chips to the other half (for me). They taste great, with a nice chewy/crunchy texture, and make a very healthy and satisfying snack. If you're looking to replace those chemical-preservative filled bars from the supermarket, these are a good alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Yummy, versatile recipe! I only changed pecans for sesame seeds, and did the half applesauce, half oil. Def. doesn't taste as healthy as it is, with whole wheat, oats, flax, and wheat germ in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States