Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Excellent, but crumbly. I blended up the flax seeds (otherwise they go undigested). Also omitted other seeds and put instead, put in extra oats, extra wheat germ, and 1/2 cup wheat berries. Tried: 4 cups oats, 1 cup brown sugar, 2 cup cracked wheat, 1 t cinn, 1.5 cup wheat flour, 0.5 cup ground flax seed (divided - add 2T worth to 5T water, heat for egg substitute, the rest goes in the dry ingreds), 1 egg, 1 cup honey, 1 cup oil, 2t vanilla, 1 t salt, 0.5 cup choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Burke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
these were great! kids ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I loved these bars. (And so did my husband and daughter.) I did make a few changes based on our preferences and what I had available. I used one stick of melted butter and 1/2 cup of applesauce in place of the oil, and I used one cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup maple syrup to sweeten. I also ground up the flax seeds before adding them to the mix. They seemed to stick together ok, and were delicious out of the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
These are perfectly wonderful! I made sure I had everything needed...no substitution or omissions, and they came out exactly right. I used a pizza cutter and knife to cut them into rectangles, ate only one (extremely hard to resist eating a second!)They're in my freezer now, individually wrapped so that I can grab one when I go for my morning walks. I did spray my hands with non-stick pan spray before mixing, so clean-up was a snap, too. I'll be making these many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
so yummy! you could easily substitute raisins, dried cranberries, etc .. or other kinds of nuts. i'll be making these all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I have tried these bars with the original recipe, and I thought that they were great. I have also substituted half the oil for almond butter and flax for almonds when I didn't have flax at home. I have also substituted bran for wheat germ. It is quite a bit cheaper. My favorite additions are coconut, white chocolate chips, and dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These are great! I am a dump truck driver and these are so easy to take along in my lunchbox! I usually have to get up for work before the chickens and don't have time for breakfast, so they work perfectly in my hurried lifestyle! This recipe is so EAST to tweak to your liking as well! I sometimes throw in dried cranberries or blueberries. I am also a big fan of vanilla, so whenever I make anything I always double the vanilla (real, not immitation)if the recipe calls for it. I tend to stick with all natural and organic ingredients (i.e.-using raw seeds, nothing "dry roasted" because they usually have been salted). These bars are packed with goodness that not only please the tastebuds but are good for you! My kids LOVE them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by springergirl67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
They were not as moist or crispy as I expected. Next time, I will use all the oil (instead of any applesauce), lots of add-ins (dried fruit and choc chips), and less flour. If that doesn't work, I may just give up on this recipe and go for true granola bars. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. I have been making these 1X a month for the past few months to eat on the way to work. They are great with a cup of coffee and give you the energy you need to get through until lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runner2008
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great recipe! Would put 5 starts if it didn't have so much sugar and honey in it, so I only used half of that. I made adjustments based on what I had on hand/preference. Subbed agave for honey and organic evaporated cane sugar for brown sugar. Subbed half the oil for applesauce and added a little pumpkin for moisture. I doubled the flaxseeds and added some slivered almonds. I was really happy with how they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Easy Granola Bars

Perfect to pack for a hike, a camping trip and a long road trip.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States