Bird Seed Energy Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
I loved these bars. (And so did my husband and daughter.) I did make a few changes based on our preferences and what I had available. I used one stick of melted butter and 1/2 cup of applesauce in place of the oil, and I used one cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup maple syrup to sweeten. I also ground up the flax seeds before adding them to the mix. They seemed to stick together ok, and were delicious out of the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
These are perfectly wonderful! I made sure I had everything needed...no substitution or omissions, and they came out exactly right. I used a pizza cutter and knife to cut them into rectangles, ate only one (extremely hard to resist eating a second!)They're in my freezer now, individually wrapped so that I can grab one when I go for my morning walks. I did spray my hands with non-stick pan spray before mixing, so clean-up was a snap, too. I'll be making these many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
so yummy! you could easily substitute raisins, dried cranberries, etc .. or other kinds of nuts. i'll be making these all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I have tried these bars with the original recipe, and I thought that they were great. I have also substituted half the oil for almond butter and flax for almonds when I didn't have flax at home. I have also substituted bran for wheat germ. It is quite a bit cheaper. My favorite additions are coconut, white chocolate chips, and dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
These are great! I am a dump truck driver and these are so easy to take along in my lunchbox! I usually have to get up for work before the chickens and don't have time for breakfast, so they work perfectly in my hurried lifestyle! This recipe is so EAST to tweak to your liking as well! I sometimes throw in dried cranberries or blueberries. I am also a big fan of vanilla, so whenever I make anything I always double the vanilla (real, not immitation)if the recipe calls for it. I tend to stick with all natural and organic ingredients (i.e.-using raw seeds, nothing "dry roasted" because they usually have been salted). These bars are packed with goodness that not only please the tastebuds but are good for you! My kids LOVE them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by springergirl67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Bonney Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
They were not as moist or crispy as I expected. Next time, I will use all the oil (instead of any applesauce), lots of add-ins (dried fruit and choc chips), and less flour. If that doesn't work, I may just give up on this recipe and go for true granola bars. We'll see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Denny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
Fabulous, fabulous, fabulous. I have been making these 1X a month for the past few months to eat on the way to work. They are great with a cup of coffee and give you the energy you need to get through until lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Runner2008
Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
Great recipe! Would put 5 starts if it didn't have so much sugar and honey in it, so I only used half of that. I made adjustments based on what I had on hand/preference. Subbed agave for honey and organic evaporated cane sugar for brown sugar. Subbed half the oil for applesauce and added a little pumpkin for moisture. I doubled the flaxseeds and added some slivered almonds. I was really happy with how they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crunchy
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
These came out tasting good, but they crumbled apart and were very dry when I tried to get them out of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crunchy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
My family absolutely loves these bars. I substitute craisins for the chocolate chips. For us it's a better fit mainly because unlike chocolate chips, the craisins don't melt in your golf bag when we're out on the course! (Nothing like having gooey chocolate fingers when you're putting for eagle!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Chewy Granola Bars

Homemade granola bars make a great breakfast or snack.

Peanut Butter Bars I

Time to get your nom-noms on! It’s peanut butter and chocolate in a bar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States