Bircher Muesli (Swiss Oatmeal) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I used two tablespoons pecans instead of walnuts and almonds because that was what I had on hand. I refrigerated this overnight to have for breakfast this morning. I did sprinkle a little cinnamon over the top before eating. This is delicious! I loved the crisp Granny Smith in this overnight oatmeal--VERY good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I am lost on this recipe! I thought that Muesli was like a dry cereal that milk was added to. Well, I decided to try this anyhow, with the milk and yogurt added and let it sit. That idea, just did not work. It was like oatmeal mush. The texture is just so off, being creamy and mushy. The appearance at first glance looks like tuna salad with apples and raisins. Maybe, more directions were needed here. It is possible that the milk and yogurt were supposed to be added as cereal or a parfait, and there is a misprint. It sounded good and both healthy anyway. It was unfortunately, unsalvageable though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I have made this a few times now and really enjoy it. I am always out of bananas, so never added that into the mixture, put together as directed otherwise. It is a versatile recipe and yummy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Rowland

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Delicious. I make this on Sunday and have breakfast for the week. I like to add a generous splash of milk each morning and stir that in to get my desired consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
The sweeteners aren't needed, the fruit makes this sweet enough! I used fresh coconut for part of the nuts in the recipe. Great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Wonderful! I just made a batch of granola and mixed about a half cup of it with the oatmeal. That made it EASY! I just needed to add the liquids and fruit. The fruit fared well in the fridge overnight and was delicious in the morning! I substituted almond milk/yogurt. I first discovered this on a buffet at a hotel and fell in love instantly. Never thought I could just make it. Thanks for the recipe. Making it outright I would probably only add honey if any sweetner at all...and some cinnamon. The granola had all that already. Baker Bee - this is Bircher Muesli -- or soaked. You are correct on your description. It is supposed to look like that. This recipe is not misprinted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is not your typical dry Muesli. If that is what you are looking for, move on. This is an amazing breakfast recipe for those craving something different. I was craving something a little different than your typical oatmeal. this is a great creamy variety. I like it slightly modified: No banana, use golden raisins, 1/4 C plain greek yogurt, 1 cup OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I like to mix it up without bananas, but add them, along with some fresh berries or peaches, freshly each morning...I agree that it needs no extra sweeteners, the fruits do the trick! I first ate this dish on a morning after camping, we went to this little bakery and they were out of everything except birker muesli...which none of us had ever heard of,we were dubious....but EVER SO GLAD that we tried it! One of my most memorable breakfasts ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsons, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Lots of potential, but it needed cinnamon or vanilla or something extra to give it some more flavor. Just too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Love this stuff. This is a great recipe. Don't be afraid to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States