Bircher Muesli (Swiss Oatmeal) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Love to make this in smaller mason jars or any clean empty jars. I like to add blueberries and bananas to mine. Great breakfast to grab and go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by memalorie
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
The traditional Swiss Bircher Muesli is made with grated apples-though there are million variations one can do with it, I have never seen it in Switzerland with chopped apples :) I make mine with milk and yogurt, and any fresh, in season, or even frozen fruit... one time with strawberries one time with blackberries or even blueberries, and I don't do all the nuts and misc. stuff (though I am sure that's tasty too). The gist of it is grated apples, oats and enough milk or yogurt to let it become softened, if you want it less mushy, add less milk, then add in whatever fruit and whatever sweetener you want (I use stevia).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Very good... I have this frequently in Europe and it is intended to be soft, not 'crunchy' like granola. Skip the brown sugar, it is not needed. I recommend using Greek yogurt instead of the fat free, and let it sit overnight instead of just an hour. Also, using a ripe banana is better flavor-wise. At serving time mix in a bit more yogurt (1/4 cup or so per serving) and some raspberries or blueberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Don Price

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Just made this and used organic whole oats (others are gmo's) greek 2% yogurt (cause that's what I have) agave syrup (healthy spoonful) currants instead of raisins, and instead of brown sugar another healthy spoonful of real maple syrup. Used 1% milk and in hindsight should have tried almond milk, which I have more of ... now have just enough for a cup of tea in the morning! while I sink my teeth into this delightful looking dish! if I remember, I'll be back to give my two cents on the tastes! (edit* just threw in some flax seed, cause they were sitting here staring at me) It's now morning....drinking a big cupof hot tea and this is fabulous! the flax adds a little je ne sais quoi ? yummmm will be making this a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canadiancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
Love this stuff. This is a great recipe. Don't be afraid to change it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Lots of potential, but it needed cinnamon or vanilla or something extra to give it some more flavor. Just too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
I like to mix it up without bananas, but add them, along with some fresh berries or peaches, freshly each morning...I agree that it needs no extra sweeteners, the fruits do the trick! I first ate this dish on a morning after camping, we went to this little bakery and they were out of everything except birker muesli...which none of us had ever heard of,we were dubious....but EVER SO GLAD that we tried it! One of my most memorable breakfasts ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parsons, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Elkins, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This is not your typical dry Muesli. If that is what you are looking for, move on. This is an amazing breakfast recipe for those craving something different. I was craving something a little different than your typical oatmeal. this is a great creamy variety. I like it slightly modified: No banana, use golden raisins, 1/4 C plain greek yogurt, 1 cup OJ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Wonderful! I just made a batch of granola and mixed about a half cup of it with the oatmeal. That made it EASY! I just needed to add the liquids and fruit. The fruit fared well in the fridge overnight and was delicious in the morning! I substituted almond milk/yogurt. I first discovered this on a buffet at a hotel and fell in love instantly. Never thought I could just make it. Thanks for the recipe. Making it outright I would probably only add honey if any sweetner at all...and some cinnamon. The granola had all that already. Baker Bee - this is Bircher Muesli -- or soaked. You are correct on your description. It is supposed to look like that. This recipe is not misprinted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
The sweeteners aren't needed, the fruit makes this sweet enough! I used fresh coconut for part of the nuts in the recipe. Great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon Oatmeal

Make a wonderful warm breakfast of simple apple and cinnamon oatmeal.

Baked Oatmeal I

A sweet baked oatmeal with raisins, milk, and eggs.

Muesli

A delicious homemade breakfast cereal with dried fruit, nuts, oats, and bran.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States