Billy's Favorite Smoky Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
Cheap, tasty, and healthy. What more could you want? I'd never had collard greens before and I wanted to try them for their health value, w/out all of the meat. These were fantastic! Very similar to boiled cabbage w/ a wonderful barbeque smell. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
GREENS ARE TO BE PICKED OR CUT OFF THE STEM. WASHED VERY CLEAN (EVEN WHEN PURCHASED PRE- CLEANED). PUT IN A POT WITH ONIONS, SEASONINGS, A GOOD SMOKED PIECE OF MEAT SUCH AS HAM OR HAM HOCKS, SUGAR IF COOKING COLLARDS TO CUT THE BITTERNESS, AND COOKED SLOW ON A FLAME FOR AT LEAST 3 HOURS REPLACING THE WATER AS IT BOILS DOWN. AFTER THE GREENS ARE COOKED THEY ARE TO BE ABLE TO SIT REFRIDGERATED OVERNITE AND REHEATED WHEN READY TO BE SERVED. THIS PROCESS ALOWS FOR THE FLAVORS TO HAVE SET IN JUST LIKE YOU WOULD WITH A GOOD CHILI, POT OF WHITE BEANS OR SOUP. THAT IS THE BASIC WAY THAT MOST AFRICAN AMERICANS COOK GREENS. BELIEVE YOU ME NO ONE IS GONNA WANT TO THROW THEM OUT COOKED THIS WAY! NO, THEY ARE NOT FAT FREE BUT IF YOU DRAIN THEM BEFORE SERVING YOU GET THE FULL FLAVOR OF THE DISH AND NOTHING MORE. THEY ARE HEALTHIER THAN ANY CARB YOU WOULD SERVE WITH THEM. LIUID SMOKE MAKES FOOD LESS AUTHENTIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
good recipe--loved the liquid smoke effect! I tried broccoli greens instead--we have plenty in the garden--worked out well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This was excellent! Thanks Billy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
this is what I was looking for; a vegetarian version of a collard green recipe; I used less water; just enough to have some cooking juice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gary, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2006
In the rural South they grow more collards than they can eat. I end up with tons of them. As a Northener I have always been baffled their high eatin’ status. In truth too, lots of folks confess to disliking them. I cook them anyway with chicken broth, vinegar, smoked sausage, bacon, ham, whatever I have, including boiling them in plain old water with some salt. This recipe was such an unusual break from the Southern norm I had to try it. I have never thought about using onions, garlic or liquid smoke and never dreamed of molasses and sugar. Collards are bitter so people disguise their servings with the brine from pickled peppers (hot or mild-“pepper sauce” as they say) and a dose of the peppers. These are delicious without the pepper sauce. Not sweet, easy to make and no one will ever guess they are healthy without the usual greasy flavorings. Very rich and mellow with a satisfying “sneaks up on you” garlicy aftertaste. Thanks Billy, I finally found a way to make collards that I actually like instead of just endure. I’ll never go back!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
I want to start out by saying that I haven't ever met a vegetable I didn't like. I love spinach and swiss chard and decided to try this recipe as part of a New Year's dinner. I was so turned off that I'm not sure I will ever try collard greens again. To be fair I'll admit that I couldn't find collard greens alone around here so I used a mix with mustard greens and another green mixed in with the collard green but I doubt it made much difference. Everything else for our dinner was wonderful but we threw this out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This is a pretty darn good collards recipe. Especially so because it tastes good without a layer of pork grease on the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2004
wonderful recipe...i substitued smoked paprika for the liquid smoke and it was just as good. thanks for a greatgreens recipe .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
Thanks Billy for making me think outside the box about what could be done with a can of greens. The liquid smoke is a brilliant idea. I sauted the onion and garlic and added them to a can of mixed greens along with the liquid smoke, salt, pepper, a pinch of crushed red pepper, and one packet of equal for just a touch of low cal sweetness. I simmered it all for about 15 minutes and they were terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasBecky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States