Billy's Favorite Smoky Collard Greens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I haven't cooked collards before, but I have tons in my garden. I didn't find this recipe too sweet at all, but then I had 2 pounds of greens AFTER trimming them. I used the whole tablespoon of liquid smoke -- I put in half at first, but found I wanted more smoke flavor, so put in the rest. Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This recipe was a experiment for me, as, northerner that I am, I've never had "greens" before. But, having planted some mustard in the garden, I thought I'd try this recipe with some mustard green. We enjoyed the flavor of this recipe very well. I'm not sure that "greens" will become a staple of our diet, but this was a tasty new trial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
the sweetness was a bit different, but still very good. i added tabasco to mine and had to cook them for a longer than the 30 minutes required (more like 45-55) to reach desired tenderness. over all though, they were very flavorful and a huge hit at the dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Pretty good! I have never had or made collard greens before so was looking for a recipe. I know the ham/smoked flavor is traditional but it's not a favorite flavor of mine-I might leave it out next time. Husband loved it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
Like others, I grew up on collard greens with turkey/ham hocks. Now that I'm eating healthier this was a GREAT alternative for me. I cooked these collards last night (March 9th) and enjoyed it immensely. Even though I had no molasses on hand they turned out wonderful. My meal plan last night was: Grilled Tilapia, Buttered Corn and Billy's Favorite Smoky Collard Greens. I loved the greens and I only cooked mine for 20 minutes to perserve some of the vitamins. I loved the liquid smoke addition. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodlyMother

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
I cooked the collard greens for the first time. I followed the recipe except for the molasses I didn't have. I added a pinch more of the brown sugar and two extra dashes of the liquid smoke. I also made some cornbread which he mixed with the greens the way he use to eat it when he was growing up. I am Hispanic and my husband is Afro-American. He enjoyed it and is looking forward to having the leftovers after work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This recipe was the best collard greens recipe I ever tasted. I agree, the liquid smoke is what made it work so well, and I also did not find it too sweet- the "sweetness" offset the slight, natural bitterness of collards beautifully, where there was no bitter taste left at all. This will work for any greens recipe. I will be using this recipe from now on, it's that addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
A great healthy and tasty alternative to using ham hocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I love collards, but this recipe was awful. Back to the usual, collards sauteed with olive oil and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
The greens were good, but I think that the ingredients were drowned by the "water to cover" part. I used more of the smoke than called and still tasted very little. Collards dont sit flat and therefore I used a a lot of water to cover them. I will try this again by maybe doubling the other ingredients besides the greens and the water. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kickin' Collard Greens

See how to make big-flavored Southern greens.

Tasty Collard Greens

Collard greens simmer with a smoked turkey drumstick.

Black-Eyed Peas with Pork and Greens

Watch how to make this classic Southern New Year’s Day specialty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States