Bill's Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Delicious, fast and easy recipe! Definitely my go-to for a sausage gravy brunch. Also very tasty with sage sausage. I find that a high-quality sausage makes all the difference and improves the flavor tremendously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I've tried Maple, but we prefer the hot sausage. Brown the sausage with some grated onions, if you like them. Add the flour directly over the sausage and stir and brown the flour. It will mix up on the sausage and use the oil from the sausage as well. If you need more fat, add 1 T. of Olive oil and 1 T. butter. Pepper with fresh ground, quite heavily. Bake the biscuits, I always like to split them and butter, but some prefer them whole. While the biscuits are baking, add 2 to 3 cans of evaporated milk from the can and at least one can of water to keep it still thin enough to put on the gravy and not just globs. You can add salt at the table, if you really need it, and more black pepper or red sauce. Enjoy. Been making this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Seals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Made this recipe tonight using leftover sausage from breakfast. My only changes were decreasing the flour by a tablespoon, and using 2 cups of heavy cream instead of the 3 cups of milk. The results were fantastic in looks, texture, and flavor. My husband and one year-old daughter gobbled it up with their dinner and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Villareal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
We had an abundance of onions from the garden and I was including onions in everything I could think of. I added diced onion near the end of browning the sausage, continuing to cook until the onions were translucent. It added a little kick and now I always add onion. This is definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Wonderful! Will use again. I lightened it up by using turkey breakfast ssg. My family didn't notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Not a criticism. Just a suggestion. Try adding 1/4 to 1/2 pound mild Italian sausage. Lots of flavor! GMH1944
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
love it over home fries...now I have to make some....yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
My mother is from Kentucky. Her mom, as well as my mom..and now me....have the secret to perfect gravy and the bland flavor this recipe and others may produce. Just add a little of your strong black coffee, one tbs. or a little more, at the end and stir in till well blended. It gives it a rich intense smokey (non coffee) taste and makes the gravy color a medium golden brown. It's an old pioneer trick farmer wives used when nothing was available to enhance their morning routine breakfast gravies. Enjoy! The instant aroma is even worth more. I also never remove the sausage (sage,regular) from the pan after it is browned. Also for truly velvet texture, my family only uses canned evaporated pet milk. Try serving this over lightly (sea)salted thick sliced (room temp) garden fresh tomatoes. Whewwww!!! Kentucky Heaven! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Its awesome use what sausage you like and do not change anything else. THANKS BILL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 900) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States