Bill's Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
This is a great sausage gravy with any type of sausage. Maple tastes great & I normally wouldn't have chosen it, but have used it several times for this gravy. I end up having to use a little extra flour because I make this with 1% milk, which is what I normally buy. OH - ONE OTHER THING: The most popular review states that he whisks the milk & flour together & adds it to the sausage directly. The reason the recipe is written the way it is - is because you need to cook the flour in the drippings & butter to get rid of the "floury" taste. All successful white sauces are made this way. Following the original recipe as written makes the best tasting gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
823 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer C.
Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
hands down 5 stars. i cook this at the firehouse every sunday morning when i am working. this is our absolute favorite! don't even attempt to use anything other than maple sausage. it just doesn't taste the same. we skip removing the sausage to leave the drippings. we wisk the flour and milk together in a bowl and then just dump it in to the pan with the sausage. tastes the same and is quicker. THE GUYS ARE KNOWN TO COME IN OFF SHIFT JUST TO EAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
334 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
As far as directions this is one of the better sausage gravy recipes I have seen. I prefer to use sage sausage in mine. I find the maple sausage has too strong a flavor that clashes and doesn't taste right. I also do not add the butter. I find I get more than enough fat from the sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
305 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
We love this recipe! However I did tweek it a little bit so that I could get the taste closer to that of which they serve at the Montage in Portland, OR. I add about 4 Tablespoons of maple syrup after it thickens and 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper OR replace maple sausage with chorizo sausage to make it spicy....but you can add either to your liking, I just found that it makes the flavor burst! Also, I serve mine over buttermilk biscuits...the only way to eat them! Thanks Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2006
I tried this with maple sausage and thought it was great. Then on a whim I tried it with a batch of the Breakfast Sausage recipe on this site. It was divine with the Breakfast Sausage! Makes even ho-hum biscuits taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
Pretty good. I added a few diced hard boiled eggs to the sausage gravy to stretch it out a bit. Really went fast. EDITED REVIEW: I make this a lot now, but I'll usually use canned milk to make a creamier gravy and I'll either add red pepper flake or Frank's Hot Sauce to give it a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
This was fantastic! I doubled the recipe since I was making it for a breakfast potluck at work. I added some onion powder to the sausage, along with pepper and salt. I wasn't planning on adding butter, but the sausage didn't render much fat, so I added about 5 tbsp. for the double batch. Everyone at work loved it (it was the favorite dish). Plenty of black pepper is a must, I think, but I like pepper. Thanks, Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon :)

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Choteau, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2002
I used 2% milk because that's all I had, and it worked just fine. The consistancy was perfect. I never had much luck with gravy in the past but this was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Fantastic! I will never buy the dry-packaged gravy mix again. I love the fact that I can make sausage gravy with no MSG. The only difference I made was to add a pinch of cayenne pepper to spice it up a bit since we like it hot in my house. Thanks for sharing your recipe Bill!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KSCHAE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2002
I made this this for dinner for a change & it was great! I used regular flavored sausage and everyone in my family loved it. My mom asked me for this recipe right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 911) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States