Bill's Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have been using a similar recipe for the last several years except I use Hot Italian Sausage. Brown it slow to retain the fat for the gravy. Sometimes I like to add some chopped jalapenos....we like it hot in Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe as it is. The only thing I add is a pinch of rubbed sage and it's outstanding every time. Sage is an herb I add to any ground pork, chicken or turkey to give it a breakfast sausage flavor. if you try it in meat it's more flavorful to let it sit overnight with other seasonings: salt, pepper and a touch of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I've been doing all my white sauces that way for years and I'm outta the firehouse over 20. Now I'm making it for my grown kids and grandkids and I use the big tube of sausage! I concur with the Navy_Mommy, sage gives it a great kick and as I remember the firehouse heat was always a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is the same recipe that I use but I replace the butter with same amount of bacon fat. That's what gives it the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I've been making this for yrs but use hot sausage for a little kick, wondra flour, and evaporated milk. It's the best...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela E.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
this works.. Use evaporated milk.. makes it creamery.. so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This IS a good recipe! To those commenting on the flour taste; you're not sautéing the flour and fat from the sausage (no butter needed) long enough to cook out the raw flour taste. I used plain sausage, not maple flavored ( don't care for the taste), added a little sage, and let it simmer until the consistency we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This recipe has become a FAV! Have to make this at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by korzechowski88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
The gravy was extremely bland. It was basically just milk and sausage--no real flavor there. The gravy never got that thick for me either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
We use just a regular breakfast sausage - not one with a particular seasoning to it - and this turns out very nicely - we do add a bit more salt once it is cooked through though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Englewood, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 944) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States