Bill's Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have been using a similar recipe for the last several years except I use Hot Italian Sausage. Brown it slow to retain the fat for the gravy. Sometimes I like to add some chopped jalapenos....we like it hot in Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe as it is. The only thing I add is a pinch of rubbed sage and it's outstanding every time. Sage is an herb I add to any ground pork, chicken or turkey to give it a breakfast sausage flavor. if you try it in meat it's more flavorful to let it sit overnight with other seasonings: salt, pepper and a touch of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I've been doing all my white sauces that way for years and I'm outta the firehouse over 20. Now I'm making it for my grown kids and grandkids and I use the big tube of sausage! I concur with the Navy_Mommy, sage gives it a great kick and as I remember the firehouse heat was always a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is the same recipe that I use but I replace the butter with same amount of bacon fat. That's what gives it the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I've been making this for yrs but use hot sausage for a little kick, wondra flour, and evaporated milk. It's the best...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
this works.. Use evaporated milk.. makes it creamery.. so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
It is a recipe I have used for years. The secret to good sausage gravy is to get the flour taste gone, thus cooking the rue, [fat and flour] long enough to lose that taste. This recipe tells you to do that. joann1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This IS a good recipe! To those commenting on the flour taste; you're not sautéing the flour and fat from the sausage (no butter needed) long enough to cook out the raw flour taste. I used plain sausage, not maple flavored ( don't care for the taste), added a little sage, and let it simmer until the consistency we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
This recipe has become a FAV! Have to make this at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by korzechowski88

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
The gravy was extremely bland. It was basically just milk and sausage--no real flavor there. The gravy never got that thick for me either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 915) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States