Bill's Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
LOVE this recipe - have made it as directed, and also substituted the maple sausage for hot sausage in the past. Have also thrown in some Sriracha sauce and vanilla in the past to shake it up :) Great base recipe by itself, but have fun with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKIAEEH123

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
This was excellent! The sauce took a little longer to thicken when I cooked it, so I gave it another 10 minutes. I served it over southern style biscuits, and the leftovers heated up well too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Delicious! Everyone loves them with homemade biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
Yum! My picky husband ate this and had a second serving!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Masa Bamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I have NEVER been able to make gravy... as hard as I tried... but this was super easy and delicious! I didn't put sausage in it because we were eating fried back strap and mashed potatoes with it. I did add a little bacon grease. It was a HIT! I am now the 'gravy maker'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I give this stars for technique. I used 2% milk and the consistency was beautiful. However, though it was not floury, it was bland. I used with regular flavored sausage links, which did not create much drippings, so I did use the butter, and I even added a little bit of maple syrup. I added a TON of pepper. We ate most of it and it wasn't bad, but it wasn't as good as the packet at the store. Why? Flavor, it just didn't have much and adding the maple syrup was weird. I keep this recipe - again, for the technique - and I may tinker with it by adding garlic powder, or maybe a bouillon cube or something. I'm not sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JaimeRae
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
I lived this recipe, it was my first time making home made gravy abd the maple sausage really made a difference. I ended up using pancake batter instead of flour cause I didn't have any. still tasted amazing. I agreed to add maybe a tad bit more flour or less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Fabulous! I only had regular sausage on hand so I drizzled some real maple syrup into the sausage as it was cooking, about 1 tablespoon and added a few dashes of cayenne pepper. Perfect and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I have made this so many times and every time it comes out amazing! It is just what I was looking for. The flavor is just like my grandma used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Lynn Monnin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
We only used about two and a half cups of milk and we just had the regular flavor sausage, but this gravy was on point. Next time we may season it with a little cayenne or Tony's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte Gouvier

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,023) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States