Bill's Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Though this is ok my version has less fat, tastes just as good and is less work. 1 lb sausage of your choice, we like 'Hot' pork sausage, 2 heaping Tbs. flour or 3Tbs. gluten free alternative flour mix (like Pamela's brand),1 can evaporated milk (reg or skim), salt and pepper or additional seasonings to taste and additional fresh whole milk as needed. Brown sausage well on medium high heat until you have browned bits on the bottom of the pan-cast iron works best. Stir in flour (w/o removing the sausage) and let it cook a few minutes stirring occasionally. Add canned milk while stirring and bring to a boil. Once boil has been reached and gravy has thickened taste, adjust seasonings as needed and add additional milk if it gets too thick or you need to stretch the servings out or like less sausage in your gravy. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is a good basic recipe for sausage gravy. I saute some chopped onion and bell pepper with the sausage. Use the spicy sausage or add crushed red pepper for a bit of a kick. Also I add a little shredded sharp cheddar after gravy is thickened once in awhile just for a change up. My greatgrandaughter loves this and she's only 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Great recipe ... As others say works with almost any sausage... For a treat, add 1/4 cup of sake or vermouth (I prefer sake). Great flavor option.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I'll be75 this summer. My mother showed me this recipe when I was in school. She learned from her mother. The only variation is we used all lard, no butter. I have my grandchildren making it now. It's also good with chipped beef, SOS., or chicken or turkey and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I tried this and added 1tsp red pepper flake, 1 tbs sage and it was PERFECT!! I never tried this with maple sausage but love it so why not!! They say you cant trust a skinny chef and I definatly have several extra pounds to carry after 38 years as a chef so believe me when I say this will impress anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Do not understand why it is necessary to remove the meat ..... I totally bypass that step and as long as you continue stirring while adding the milk and while it simmers after for a bit, it smooths out beautifully .... I never have "lumpy" gravy ( not counting the sausage, of course )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I make this quite often, and it is very good. These are my measurements for the gravy. 3 tablespoons of butter, 3 tablespoons of flour, and 3 cups of milk. I also cook the butter and flour until the raw taste of the flour is gone, and then add the milk. I guess everyone has their own method, so whatever works is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
My husband makes a version of this. He does not drain the Jimmy Dean regular sausage; uses Wundra instead of flour mixed with milk, salt, pepper, and garlic. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is the way my Grandmother showed me Almost 50 years ago, don't forget to crumble the sausage. Homemade lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Much too bland. Garlic powder does the trick. Also, I don't do exact measurements. I slice off a chunk of rolled sausage and fry till just cooked through. I do not remove it from pan--just add some butter then flour until it's a paste. Cook for at least one minute then gradually add in your milk to the consistency you prefer for your gravy. Season to taste with salt, pepper and garlic powder. This is my one-Sunday-a-month breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 915) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States