Bill's Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I tried this and added 1tsp red pepper flake, 1 tbs sage and it was PERFECT!! I never tried this with maple sausage but love it so why not!! They say you cant trust a skinny chef and I definatly have several extra pounds to carry after 38 years as a chef so believe me when I say this will impress anyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Do not understand why it is necessary to remove the meat ..... I totally bypass that step and as long as you continue stirring while adding the milk and while it simmers after for a bit, it smooths out beautifully .... I never have "lumpy" gravy ( not counting the sausage, of course )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I make this quite often, and it is very good. These are my measurements for the gravy. 3 tablespoons of butter, 3 tablespoons of flour, and 3 cups of milk. I also cook the butter and flour until the raw taste of the flour is gone, and then add the milk. I guess everyone has their own method, so whatever works is best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
My husband makes a version of this. He does not drain the Jimmy Dean regular sausage; uses Wundra instead of flour mixed with milk, salt, pepper, and garlic. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is the way my Grandmother showed me Almost 50 years ago, don't forget to crumble the sausage. Homemade lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Agree with reviewer "kimtl"--much too bland. Garlic powder does the trick. Also, I don't do exact measurements. I slice off a chunk of rolled sausage and fry till just cooked through. I do not remove it from pan--just add some butter then flour until it's a paste. Cook for at least one minute then gradually add in your milk to the consistency you prefer for your gravy. Season to taste with salt, pepper and garlic powder. This is my one-Sunday-a-month breakfast treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I have been using a similar recipe for the last several years except I use Hot Italian Sausage. Brown it slow to retain the fat for the gravy. Sometimes I like to add some chopped jalapenos....we like it hot in Texas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe as it is. The only thing I add is a pinch of rubbed sage and it's outstanding every time. Sage is an herb I add to any ground pork, chicken or turkey to give it a breakfast sausage flavor. if you try it in meat it's more flavorful to let it sit overnight with other seasonings: salt, pepper and a touch of maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
I've been doing all my white sauces that way for years and I'm outta the firehouse over 20. Now I'm making it for my grown kids and grandkids and I use the big tube of sausage! I concur with the Navy_Mommy, sage gives it a great kick and as I remember the firehouse heat was always a good thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
This is the same recipe that I use but I replace the butter with same amount of bacon fat. That's what gives it the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 901) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States