Bill's Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This basic recipe is how I've made my gravy for years. However, I use sage or a combination of sage and spicy flavored sausage, never use butter (it's rich enough,) and I just add the flour right onto the sausage without removing it from the skillet first, cooking it for a few minutes before adding the milk, it's quicker. Sometimes I sauté minced onion along with the sausage and since I don't like big chunks of meat I use a pastry blender to break up the pieces just before I add the flour. A generous helping of fresh ground pepper and a splash of heavy cream and your guests will be licking their plates and begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
The only maple sausage I could find came in patties, and these are difficult to pull apart when raw and impossible to do when cooked. Be sure you have sauage of whatever kind that comes in a large tube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Delicious, fast and easy recipe! Definitely my go-to for a sausage gravy brunch. Also very tasty with sage sausage. I find that a high-quality sausage makes all the difference and improves the flavor tremendously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I've tried Maple, but we prefer the hot sausage. Brown the sausage with some grated onions, if you like them. Add the flour directly over the sausage and stir and brown the flour. It will mix up on the sausage and use the oil from the sausage as well. If you need more fat, add 1 T. of Olive oil and 1 T. butter. Pepper with fresh ground, quite heavily. Bake the biscuits, I always like to split them and butter, but some prefer them whole. While the biscuits are baking, add 2 to 3 cans of evaporated milk from the can and at least one can of water to keep it still thin enough to put on the gravy and not just globs. You can add salt at the table, if you really need it, and more black pepper or red sauce. Enjoy. Been making this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Seals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Made this recipe tonight using leftover sausage from breakfast. My only changes were decreasing the flour by a tablespoon, and using 2 cups of heavy cream instead of the 3 cups of milk. The results were fantastic in looks, texture, and flavor. My husband and one year-old daughter gobbled it up with their dinner and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Villareal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
We had an abundance of onions from the garden and I was including onions in everything I could think of. I added diced onion near the end of browning the sausage, continuing to cook until the onions were translucent. It added a little kick and now I always add onion. This is definitely a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Edmond, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Wonderful! Will use again. I lightened it up by using turkey breakfast ssg. My family didn't notice a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Not a criticism. Just a suggestion. Try adding 1/4 to 1/2 pound mild Italian sausage. Lots of flavor! GMH1944
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
love it over home fries...now I have to make some....yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 912) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States