Bill's Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
love it over home fries...now I have to make some....yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
My mother is from Kentucky. Her mom, as well as my mom..and now me....have the secret to perfect gravy and the bland flavor this recipe and others may produce. Just add a little of your strong black coffee, one tbs. or a little more, at the end and stir in till well blended. It gives it a rich intense smokey (non coffee) taste and makes the gravy color a medium golden brown. It's an old pioneer trick farmer wives used when nothing was available to enhance their morning routine breakfast gravies. Enjoy! The instant aroma is even worth more. I also never remove the sausage (sage,regular) from the pan after it is browned. Also for truly velvet texture, my family only uses canned evaporated pet milk. Try serving this over lightly (sea)salted thick sliced (room temp) garden fresh tomatoes. Whewwww!!! Kentucky Heaven! :))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Its awesome use what sausage you like and do not change anything else. THANKS BILL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bristol, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
You cannot go wrong with this recipe. It's fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keta Pretorius

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
My mom taught this to me when I was about 9 and has been my favorite for about 24 years I make this often with moms recipe for biscuits or I change it up and go with bacon... a comfort food for some of us raised in the south
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Roller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I have made biscuits and gravy for years! I never knew there was an actual recipe for it though. I use regular sausage instead of the maple flavor and I don't add the butter, I just use the fat in the pan from browning the sausage. Cook it up sprinkle flour evenly over the top and then start stirring in milk until well blended, I just eyeball it. Once it heats up it starts to thicken up. If it gets too thick I just add more milk; too thin and I let it bubble for a few minutes and it thickens right up. I play with it until I get the consistency I want. Easy-peasy! I always serve with scrambled eggs. We pour the gravy over the biscuits and over the scrambled eggs too! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
I have made this recipe for years and have always just sprinkled the flour over the cooked meat and sautéed it a little and then poured the milk into it ....(omit butter... it is not needed).......then there are NEVER any lumps in the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Great recipe. I cook hot sausage with some red pepper flakes and fresh cracked pepper. Drain fat. Sprinkle about 2 Tablespoons Wondra (found in the flour isle in a blue cardboard can) on the sausage. Cook for 1 to 2 minutes on medium. Add milk to the degree of thickness you desire. This reduces the fat and calories. I leave the salt out to reduce sodium, there is plenty in the sausage. Judy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
tried it with bacon instead of sausage. don't need salt or butter, just bacon grease. wonderfully smooth gravy, but don't know if it's less healthy than butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
Made recipe as written except I don't like maple flavored sausage so I stuck with regular Neese's brand. It was delicious; I was a little heavy handed on the salt so added extra pepper and milk to even out the flavor. Next time I'm going to use Neese's Hot country sausage. Will definitely make again... thanks Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MHudson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 903) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States