Bill's Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
followed recipe exactly...this was great...we loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
tried it today with my kids....was a bit too sweet with the maple sausage. I loved the fact that I can now make it, but I'm a bigger fan of a spicy kick, rather than sweet for a B&G recipe. If you like sweetness in your B&G, this is going to be a big hit. If not, I think I will go with a more spicy sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Fantastic! I use maple sausage or add maple syrup to regular sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Bearden

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ckrey83
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I made this a few times now. I didn't try it with maple flavored sausage though. I've used regular breakfast sausage and hot Italian sausage. We poured it on top of biscuits. Yummy! My family enjoyed it, especially my bf who is a biscuits and gravy lover. Thanks for a great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckrey83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Wouldn't change a thing. I used 1% milk because that's what I had. I've never gotten the proportions right before and never used butter. Really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2014
This basic recipe is how I've made my gravy for years. However, I use sage or a combination of sage and spicy flavored sausage, never use butter (it's rich enough,) and I just add the flour right onto the sausage without removing it from the skillet first, cooking it for a few minutes before adding the milk, it's quicker. Sometimes I sauté minced onion along with the sausage and since I don't like big chunks of meat I use a pastry blender to break up the pieces just before I add the flour. A generous helping of fresh ground pepper and a splash of heavy cream and your guests will be licking their plates and begging for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
The only maple sausage I could find came in patties, and these are difficult to pull apart when raw and impossible to do when cooked. Be sure you have sauage of whatever kind that comes in a large tube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patriciafulda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Delicious, fast and easy recipe! Definitely my go-to for a sausage gravy brunch. Also very tasty with sage sausage. I find that a high-quality sausage makes all the difference and improves the flavor tremendously!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
I've tried Maple, but we prefer the hot sausage. Brown the sausage with some grated onions, if you like them. Add the flour directly over the sausage and stir and brown the flour. It will mix up on the sausage and use the oil from the sausage as well. If you need more fat, add 1 T. of Olive oil and 1 T. butter. Pepper with fresh ground, quite heavily. Bake the biscuits, I always like to split them and butter, but some prefer them whole. While the biscuits are baking, add 2 to 3 cans of evaporated milk from the can and at least one can of water to keep it still thin enough to put on the gravy and not just globs. You can add salt at the table, if you really need it, and more black pepper or red sauce. Enjoy. Been making this forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Seals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 1,026) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States