Bill's Sausage Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
This is very easy to make and is ready as soon as you can bake up some southern style frozen biscuits! Add a little tabasco on top and you're all set. (I use other types of sausage, as I am not a huge maple fan, but it's still great.) Thanks Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Yummy! I made this with 1% milk (because it's all I had), and this gravy is still so rich and wonderful. Also, the only sausage I could find at the store was 16 oz. instead of 12, so I used it all. I can't wait to have the leftovers tonight. :) This will definitely be a gravy recipe I use over and over again. Gosh, I'm hungry now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaAshPash

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
Made this tonight with bulk Mild Italian Sausage and added garlic, otherwise followed recipe. Used 1 Tbsp. butter with the grease from the cooked sausage. I don't typically like biscuits and gravy, LOVED this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quincy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This is my go-to sausage gravy recipe. I've been using it for years. It always turn out perfect! I usually end up adding more milk toward the end, but that's just because I simmer the gravy a bit longer, so it needs thinned out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I fixed this last night for dinner for my husband and I. It was delicious!! The only thing I changed in this recipe was the milk. I used 2% milk instead of Vitamin D milk. And I didn't use maple sausage. I used mild pork sausage. The only reason I didn't use the maple sausage is because I already had the mild pork sausage in my fridge. The next I make this I am going to try it with the maple sausage. Excellent recipe!! And very easy too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
My family is Appalachian and I was raised on a farm eating biscuits and gravy, eggs and fried apples. I tried this recipe because...well I'd never seen anyone "measure" a gravy recipe. We are a dump and pour until it tastes right family. My granny knew what she was talking about when she told me if you want the best tasting sausage gravy use bacon grease as the base and I have to agree. I gave this a shot but it is much better if you reserve bacon grease to brown your flour in then add the drained sausage pieces to the gravy. Also, for more punch try white pepper...everyone seems to forget about that little gem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
The first few times I made it just as the recipe called for. Now I add some Worcestershire & hot sauce. Just a personal taste thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Hammer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I used Jimmy Dean regular sausage along with Wondra quick mixing flour for gravies. The ingredient amounts were the same and the sausage gravy turned out good. I made bisuits to go with the gravy definately will make again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cliff G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Santee, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
The is no need to remove the sausage from the pan before adding flour. It will coat the sausage crumbles and brown the flour perfectly. Once you start adding the milk, the flour and grease from the sausage blends perfectly and you never get lumps. By far the best gravy recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SMisic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I thought this was the most flavorful gravy I've ever made. My issue was, that paired with bisquick biscuits, it seemed really heavy. I know it's biscuits and gravy.... But it may have been the biscuit being too dense. I'm not a fan of bisquick, but thats all i had.I will try next time with canned biscuit dough, which I love, say what you will... But I will see if that makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 904) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Breakfast Sausage

See how easy it is to make breakfast pork sausage from scratch.

Veggie and Sausage Skillet Pizza

See how to make a delicious deep-dish style pizza in a skillet.

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States