Bill's Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2000
MY husband and I made this recipe with the help of a heavy duty Kitchenaid mixer. It is smooth and creamy and has a very good flavor. We will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I've been making divinity since I was nine years old. I'm now 65 and never had a failure with any recipe. This recipe is fine as written. Just don't ever make divinity on a rainy or humid day. It won't set up or at the least it will be difficult to get it to set up. As others have said apply ingredients in slow stream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This is the same recipe that my mom used for over 30 years and now I have used it for almost 10 years. It has been fail-proof for me. I live in the south with more humidity and I have to beat it at least 10 - 15 minutes. The trick is to keep beeting it until it works right. You should also use a stand mixer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I have been making bill's divinity now for three years, it's never been a problem, in fact it's very easy (with a candy thermometer) everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2000
I've tried this recipe twice and it does not set up for me. Mine was a gooey, sticky mess. I've always seen divinity recipes that went to about 248 degrees for half the syrup, then about 272 for the other half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Really great recipe! Never made divinity myself, but loved it for years. Very easy - those who posted they ended up with a gooey mess probably didn't beat it long enough. I made one batch as advised and another substituting the vanilla for peppermint extract & added just a few drops of red food coloring for a holiday twist. Cinnamon flavoring also good! Excellent - thank you for sharing Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Cool, I watched my stepdad mess up on divinity a few times and here I did it right on my first try. Yay, it works!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I really enjoyed making this Divinity.. was very good and easy to make...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Wonderful recipe and very tasty... I made a double batch... it took me forever to mix it lol... My mom adores this candy and this recipe is the tops in her book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I just made this and it is the smoothest and tasty recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States