Bill's Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
Turned out perfect! It is almost gone because we could not keep our hands off of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I've been making divinity since I was nine years old. I'm now 65 and never had a failure with any recipe. This recipe is fine as written. Just don't ever make divinity on a rainy or humid day. It won't set up or at the least it will be difficult to get it to set up. As others have said apply ingredients in slow stream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I have never been able to make a good batch of divinity. I tried this recipe twice to no avail. I finally gave up..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Good basic recipe. For those who are still frustrated trying to get this candy to behave, I found a fix for gooey divinity flops after 4 different attempts from various Divinity recipes. As said previously, it's vital to pour the cooked syrup very slowly in slim streams while beating with the eggs whites. Pouring too much at once will cook the egg whites. Then keep beating (in my case it took 15 minutes) until it starts to lose its gloss. But if it is still gooey, here's how to save it: Reheat the mixture - microwave if you have a glass bowl or put metal pan in very hot water, so it gives your mixer a rest and makes the candy warmer and more pliable. Then start mixing again. If you still think it wont set up, add about 1/2 to 1 tsp of hot water to the mix then sprinkle in about 1/2 to 1 cup powdered sugar while mixing ON SLOW. It will start to set up much faster now and it changes the texture from a smooth, soft chewy candy to more a fudge-like texture, which I actually like better. I know this is just adding more sugar but some other recipes call for less sugar in the ingredients list. ALSO: Try this for a new flavor twist. When it's time to add the Vanilla, instead add the following: 1/4 tsp. Peppermint Extract 1/4 tsp. Butter flavor Extract 1/2 tsp. Vanilla Extract (more or less peppermint or butter extract to taste) 5 - 7 drops Yellow Food Coloring BUTTER MINT DIVINITY! You won't go back to plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I make batches and batches of this every Christmas! Best recipe I've found. My tips? Make sure eggs are room temp or they won't peak and there is nary a cloud in the sky or it will never set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
These didn't work for me... I think because I added the sugar to the egg to quickly. They turned out like a nougat. HOWEVER, I made these turn out yummy by dunking them in chocolate! Sort of like homemade 3 Musketeer drops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APRILSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2005
My divinity turned out a little tough. I probably over beat it. This is a good recipe for divinity and I will be trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
Wonderful recipe and very tasty... I made a double batch... it took me forever to mix it lol... My mom adores this candy and this recipe is the tops in her book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
Really great recipe! Never made divinity myself, but loved it for years. Very easy - those who posted they ended up with a gooey mess probably didn't beat it long enough. I made one batch as advised and another substituting the vanilla for peppermint extract & added just a few drops of red food coloring for a holiday twist. Cinnamon flavoring also good! Excellent - thank you for sharing Christine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
I just made this and it is the smoothest and tasty recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States