Bill's Divinity Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I live in the heart of Texas. I just tried this recipe and omitted 1TB of water due to our high humidity levels. This recipe came out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I use 1/8 tsp of salt and 1/8 tsp of Cream of Tartar to the egg white mixture. The Cream of Tartar helps to stabilize the egg whites. I cook the sugar mixture on Medium heat to about 250 degrees (or when you can spin the sugar to hair thin on the spoon. Add the syrup slowly to egg whites. Continue to beat until the shine in the mixture is gone. After most of beating is done, I mix in nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This was my first attempt at making divinity and it turned out great! Very easy using a stand mixer and a candy thermometer. A couple of tips I followed from the reviews of several other recipes were to use egg whites that are room temperature and to add the syrup to the egg whites slowly, in a very thin stream. Definitely will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Okay so I have been making this recipe for 30 or so years and I got it out of the Better Crocker Cookbook. Anyway I have added walnuts (this version takes longer to set) and crushed soft peppermint sticks to change the recipe. This year I am going to try cinnamon. I also upped the cooking temp to 265 it seems to help it set better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I changed this recipe to 6 servings as I had 3 egg whites and it turned out great. I needed to beat it between 5-10 min. I discovered that you needed to wait until it kind of lost the gloss and started to look dry. It made 38 large (too large) pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
This was my first time making divinity . . . . I have always been scared to even try it based on horror stories I've heard! Followed the recipe and it was perfect - I think you do need a good candy thermometer though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Have made 2 batches using this recipe. They have both turned out like marshmellow cream. I lost my recipe that was my grandmothers. This was the closest one. Not impressed with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This was the first time I made divinity. Everything worked out just like the recipe and reviews said. I let it cook for 15 minutes and got to the hard ball stage, very good recipe, I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I chose this recipe because my dad was the one to make the divinity and his name was Bill too. My first attempt won his approval!! My only tip is to make sure you store this in an airtight very clean container. I kept it in a plastic container that evidently still had a bit of dishsoap film clinging to it and after a couple days the candy had absorbed the soap flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
Even on a rainy day, this recipe was successful! (minus the tablespoon of water). Thanks, you have given me faith that I can make divinity! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandolynnd
Living In: Cordova, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Mints

See how to make sweet peppermint treats that positively melt in your mouth.

World's Best Peanut Fudge

See how to make a rich-and-creamy peanut butter fudge.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States