Bill's Braisin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This recipie turned out to be dry especially around the edges, you could not taste the raisins, but you could taste the brand (super strong) and that is all you could taste. My entire family didn't eat the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My mother in law makes great raisin bran muffins so I thought this would be good too. I was disappointed. Other than the raisins, it tasted nothing like raisin bran at all. But it did bake up nice and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Yummy, dense bread - awesome toasted with butter and cinnamon sugar! I don't like the way my bread machine does bread, so I mixed this in my mixer with the dough hook, then let it rise in a loaf pan for 1 hour. Baked at 350 for ~25-30 minutes (could have gone longer, but I like doughy-er bread). Oh, and I added a liberal amount of cinnamon to the dough, as well :) Very dense and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
My 1 year old son and I are eating this right now. Delicious! He keeps asking for more and I can't deny him because I want more, too. :) I inherited a bag of store-brand raisin bran from someone who was moving away—but there was a hole in it so it was stale. I searched online for a recipe to use it up and landed here, since it seemed easy and I had all the ingredients. It *is* easy and it tastes great! Especially when I took the advice of the other reviewers: I added 1 Tbsp of unsalted butter, 1 tsp of cinnamon, and a handful of extra raisins. Since this off-brand cereal had really large flakes, I crushed the cereal a bit in a bowl before measuring it out. Then I dumped everything into my bread maker, selected white bread, and let it do its thing. The bread came out moist and soft, and tasting like cinnamon raisin bread you buy at the store, only fresher since it was just baked. So good when eaten still warm with a spread of butter. Can't wait to try it as toast. I'll definitely make this again, even if I don't have any stale raisin bran cereal. :) PS, in my bread maker this came out as a 2 pound loaf in size, even though I didn't double the recipe. Keep an eye on yours if your breads tend to rise too much and touch the lid. ----- EDIT: My family and I ate nearly the whole loaf the day it was made. The next morning we made toast with it and were disappointed. Nice texture, but bland. Needs toppings to taste good. At least it tastes good fresh! I'll still make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I was looking for a way to use up the last bit of cereal in the box and came up with this recipe. I was about a 1/4 cup short on the bread flour and made up the difference with wholewheat flour. We had this for breakfast the first day and everyone loved it. The following day I used the last slices to make cinnamon toast and that was delicious too. Thankyou Bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This is EXACTLY what I was looking for. I didn't have raisin bran so I subbed a multi-grain cereal with raisins, dates, and pecans. Also added lots of cinnamon. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My picky family loved this bread!!!! Will definitely make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
Great Bread! Made me feel like I was feeding my little son something healthy! I used Total Raisen Bran, it's fortified with so much, and a few extra raisins. I also replaced one cup of bread flour with wheat flour and it worked fine! Best if eaten the same day, the next day it's better toasted! Thanks Bill, we will make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I added a liberal amount of cinnamon and a TBSP of butter to this recipe. It was delicious and well-received. Especially good when toasted and buttered! Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
We will have it again! A suggestion, add more raisons and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States