Bill's Braisin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2005
Great Bread! Made me feel like I was feeding my little son something healthy! I used Total Raisen Bran, it's fortified with so much, and a few extra raisins. I also replaced one cup of bread flour with wheat flour and it worked fine! Best if eaten the same day, the next day it's better toasted! Thanks Bill, we will make this a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2005
My bread machine is 11 years old and very basic...wasn't sure how this would turn out. I followed the recipe exactly (with the exception of following other reviewer's suggestions and added more raisins). It came out great! Very dense and flavorful. I liked it better toasted but my husband and son liked it either way. Didn't last long here! Very simple to make...the hardest part was waiting for it to be done! Thanks, I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biddeford, Maine, USA
Living In: Saco, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
My mother in law makes great raisin bran muffins so I thought this would be good too. I was disappointed. Other than the raisins, it tasted nothing like raisin bran at all. But it did bake up nice and pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I didn't have raisin bran cereal. So, i substituted with oats, brans and raisins. I have made it quite a few times, and it always turns out well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
Yummy, dense bread - awesome toasted with butter and cinnamon sugar! I don't like the way my bread machine does bread, so I mixed this in my mixer with the dough hook, then let it rise in a loaf pan for 1 hour. Baked at 350 for ~25-30 minutes (could have gone longer, but I like doughy-er bread). Oh, and I added a liberal amount of cinnamon to the dough, as well :) Very dense and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEHUNGRY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newark, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kent, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
This recipie turned out to be dry especially around the edges, you could not taste the raisins, but you could taste the brand (super strong) and that is all you could taste. My entire family didn't eat the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
This is EXACTLY what I was looking for. I didn't have raisin bran so I subbed a multi-grain cereal with raisins, dates, and pecans. Also added lots of cinnamon. Fabulous!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Great recipe. I added 1 tablespoon of butter and more raisin. It turned out great with just the right density. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My picky family loved this bread!!!! Will definitely make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
We will have it again! A suggestion, add more raisons and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States