Bill's Braisin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
I added a tsp of cinnamon and the husband and kids just LOVE it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Dry. Hard. Will NOT make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Yummmmmm! Baked as recipe called for and added 1/3 cup extra rasins, a tablespoon of butter, and a tablespoon of honey with the water. Moist and delicious and great texture. The whole family loves it. Thanks Bill!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
My 1 year old son and I are eating this right now. Delicious! He keeps asking for more and I can't deny him because I want more, too. :) I inherited a bag of store-brand raisin bran from someone who was moving away—but there was a hole in it so it was stale. I searched online for a recipe to use it up and landed here, since it seemed easy and I had all the ingredients. It *is* easy and it tastes great! Especially when I took the advice of the other reviewers: I added 1 Tbsp of unsalted butter, 1 tsp of cinnamon, and a handful of extra raisins. Since this off-brand cereal had really large flakes, I crushed the cereal a bit in a bowl before measuring it out. Then I dumped everything into my bread maker, selected white bread, and let it do its thing. The bread came out moist and soft, and tasting like cinnamon raisin bread you buy at the store, only fresher since it was just baked. So good when eaten still warm with a spread of butter. Can't wait to try it as toast. I'll definitely make this again, even if I don't have any stale raisin bran cereal. :) PS, in my bread maker this came out as a 2 pound loaf in size, even though I didn't double the recipe. Keep an eye on yours if your breads tend to rise too much and touch the lid. ----- EDIT: My family and I ate nearly the whole loaf the day it was made. The next morning we made toast with it and were disappointed. Nice texture, but bland. Needs toppings to taste good. At least it tastes good fresh! I'll still make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
My family loved this bread. It was so moist and yummy. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Goshen, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
This made a surprisingly good loaf of bread. Not too sweet, but interesting flavor. I did add some more raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
I was looking for a way to use up the last bit of cereal in the box and came up with this recipe. I was about a 1/4 cup short on the bread flour and made up the difference with wholewheat flour. We had this for breakfast the first day and everyone loved it. The following day I used the last slices to make cinnamon toast and that was delicious too. Thankyou Bill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
I added a liberal amount of cinnamon and a TBSP of butter to this recipe. It was delicious and well-received. Especially good when toasted and buttered! Will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
We will have it again! A suggestion, add more raisons and cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
My picky family loved this bread!!!! Will definitely make this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Monkey Bread II

See how to use your bread machine to make sweet, nutty monkey bread.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States