Billman's Clam Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
I have to say I thought this recipe had a GREAT flavor and I will definitely make it again. However, for me the recipe needed quite a bit of tweaking. First, this is called a casserole..this would not be what I would consider a casserole...like many other reviewers mentioned it really is a dip (a good one!) . Also there was no mention of what size casserole dish to use (I would use an 8x8 dish or maybe a pie plate). When I read the reviews there was mention of the dish being too salty. With clam juice, bacon and parmesan as ingredients of course it was going to be on the salty side...I omitted the 2 teaspoons of salt and glad I did...it was plenty salty enough without it! (not too salty). Also, after you add the clams and crumbled bacon, don't forget to remove the bay leaves. I will make this again but as a dip with Ritz crackers or in clam shells or over linguini with some olvie oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by p and q

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA
Living In: Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
This was OK. Didn't need any salt as far as I was concerned. I agree that this would make a good appetizer with some crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
thanks for the clarification on the bacon, but i figured out when to ad. this seemed to take a lot of work and i didn't think it had much taste to it. no one flavor stood out, even the clams. maybe as an appetizer w/ crackers or veggies?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I was hoping this was going to be wonderful, but I was disappointed. The end result was entirely too salty! I had to check to see if I followed the recipe correctly. And I'm a person who enjoys salt! Im glad that I tried it, but I wont be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ginger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
This was good but should cut back on the oregano...little overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bferris19
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
THIS IS MY RECIPE PLEASE READ : Hi all - I'm realizing from reviews that the instructions don't say what to do with the bacon and as a reviewer pointed out THE SALT AMOUNT IS TOO HIGH!! I don't know if that was not included in my original posting, or if something was lost in translation when the recipe was kitchen approved. Sorry!! You should add the crumbled bacon when you add the clams. As for the salt if should be a DASH OR TWO TO TASTE (you can taste the mixture before baking it and adjust) - NOT 2 TSP FOR THIS AMOUNT! SORRY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bferris19

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellmore, New York, USA
Living In: Kirklyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I made this tonight for dinner and followed the recipe exactly as written..so exact that after I put it in the oven I realized it never told me when to put the bacon that you fry and set aside in!! LOL Had a great flavor and I will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Zuch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sayre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
I saw the photo and happened to have all ingredients except fresh garlic. I increased the garlic powder and otherwise followed the recipe as written. I also used panko bread crumbs. Delicious dip for Sunday football!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Tater Tot Casserole III

An easy, cheesy casserole topped with buttery corn flakes and Parmesan cheese.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States