Bill and Annette's One Pot Kraut Special Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
The pork was VERY tender, and while I thought the sauerkraut was a little too dominant, my boyfriend absolutely loved it. He ate about the biggest helping of this I've ever seen him eat. If I made it again I'd use more apple and less kraut. Though since the recipe is called Kraut Special, I should've been expecting that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Sounded interesting but unfortunately, not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Excellent...but don't forget some salt and pepper. That tea does something wonderful to this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was so easy and so tasty! I actually didn't have enough time to do it in a slow cooker, so I put everything in a dutch oven and cooked at 400 for about 30 minutes (til the meat thermometer registered 145 degrees). The whole family enjoyed it! This afternoon, I took some of the leftovers, added chicken broth and a spoonful of brown sugar and voila! a delicious warming soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
I actually have an apple peeler that I use, which makes the apples sliced instead of diced. Likewise with the onions. Strips are nicer as you bite! The recipe somehow converted to everything being diced. I dont dice anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A-NET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA
Living In: Stevensville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Super easy set up and while I usually shy away from sweet + pork dishes, this one had a great balance. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I changed a couple things in this recipe but it was too good not to rate 5 stars. I loved it and I usually don't like fruit and meat together. I followed the directions in putting the apple and onion slices on the bottom but I don't drain the sauerkraut, nor do I add sugar - we like a little bite in our kraut. I added a combination of sweet tea and chicken broth into the slow cooker. Everything comes out moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
I loved this quick and easy recipe, I didn't use the brown sugar, and added a teaspoon of chopped garlic, salt and pepper, served with mashed potatoes... this is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Excellent dish for the New Years tradition. No peach flavored tea so used some Craisins. Also added some thyme to flavor the pork. Had to go out to store to get apples so added after first 2 hours of cooking and cooked to perfection. The juices of apple and craisins really added some great taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
This was a good one. I did skip the tea and instead subbed in a tablespoon or two of peach jam. I thought the tea would have been just too much liquid but the peach, apple, onion add a nice complexity to the sauerkraut. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin Up A Storm

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fergus Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Tangy Slow Cooker Pork Roast

All you need are 10 minutes to prepare this juicy, tangy roast pork.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States